1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 4850 bsod on new install

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by willat, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I just put together this system

    Asus P5Q3, Q9400 CPU, 2 gb ddr3, 600W psu, and the Sapphire HD 4850.

    When I install Vista 32, everything goes fine until I reboot after installing the video driver. I get "atikmdag.sys - address 8B81DF42" etc... bsod error.

    Doesn't matter if I use newest drivers, oder ones, ones through windows update, always get the bsod same error.

    I can boot into safe mode, remove the drivers and boot back up (that's how I'm using it now).

    Should I flash the bios on the card? Or is this just a DOA card that needs to be RMA'd?
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  2. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    sounds to me like your having power play issues if it only happens when you have the drivers installed, i'd say just rma the card its probably defective or if you know how to flash the bios try underclocking it and see if you get the same results.

    also by chance wich exact one did you get ?


    Also make sure your mobo has the latest bios
    willat says thanks.
  3. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It's a SAPPHIRE HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E HDMI. I updated the mobo bios, but not the card. I downloaded a bios for it, I'll fash when I find instructions on how to. Know a good site?
    I thought 600w psu would be plenty... I have two dvd drives, two hard drives, and the video card. Doesn't seem like a lot.
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Since it's a brand new card, maybe you should contact Sapphire and see what they say about it. Flashing a bios shouldn't be standard practice when installing a new card.
  5. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    wich 600w psu did you get ?
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    After doing some googling i found a number of threads on other forums of people complaining about this problem in the past. As of yet i havent found any concrete solutions but it seems to be an issue with ATI drivers and Vista. Some people also mentioned fixing this by updating the chipset driver (not sure why). If you havent already done it i would first install all the critical updates for Vista and also try using old Catalyst versions like 8.10 and older. I hope you did a clean uninstall of old drivers before installing new ones. Erocker has a nice guide in the graphics section on how to do a complete driver removal. If i were you i'd google for this and see if you find any solutions on how to fix this, i didnt do a very thorough search myself so its possible the answer is out there. As someone suggested above contacting Sapphire may also be a good idea, perhaps they know of a fix for this.
    willat says thanks.
  7. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    It's a COOLMAX V-600 600w ATX 12v w/140mm smart fan power supply. Got it from mwave.com.
  8. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I just installed the critical updates for the first time. Previously, they reverted back because it also installed a video driver that caused a bsod. I'm going to clean out everything and try to install some older drivers. I'll have to check what came on the disk.
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    willat says thanks.
  10. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    That could be it. Just a suggestion, never do any hardware driver updates via Windows update in the future, just download the critical updates and leave it at that. When thats done then install hardware drivers that you got from the manufacturer's site.
    willat says thanks.
  11. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    So far, this is what's happened... I started with the 8.6 drivers and went up to the 8.1 drivers. They all say they are done installing, but don't really install. They expand and go into a c:\ati directory, but that's it. Windows gives me a warning that they didn't install. They all detect the card.

    The 9.3 drivers install, but I get the bsod. I've run Driver Sweeper between each install.

    I'm going on to 8.11 next, then whatever's left. I think I will be RMAing this card tomorrow, unless it unexpectedly starts to work.

    My worry is that the next one will do the same. I could go with a 9800 GTX, but that kind of defeats the purpose of buying a crossfire ready mobo in the first place.
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    This does seem weird. Before RMAing the card i'd suggest doing a fresh reinstall of Vista. When thats done download all the critical updates, install the chipset driver and then install ATI catalyst. I thought id mention this as a last resort before you RMA.
  13. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yeah, it is pretty strange. None of the drivers below 9 would install. They said they "completed", but they didn't install. The newer ones just gave me a bsod. They also will install with Win Update.

    I've installed Vista 3 or 4 times now, this last time was the only one that had all the updates and chipset update as you suggested. The card has never run with the drivers yet. Now, I am hoping there is something wrong. I'd hate to get a replacement and have the same problem.

    I guess if I get another card I will at least know if this one is bad or not.
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yea, it seems to me now that it has to be the card. I thought it was drivers based on what i googled but i dont see anyone here having this problem and there are plenty Vista+ATI users on this forum. If you are nervous about getting an ATI card go with a comparable Nvidia card, if you got a little more cash a GTX 260 216 would be an excellent choice. But, of course, if you are planning on crossfire later you gotta stick with ATI. Anyway, good luck.
  15. Mickelonis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's not the card.

    I have this same exact issue. It all started a couple weeks ago... I'm not sure if it was an update from Microsoft or what...

    My hardware:

    DX38BT Motherboard
    Quad Core Extreme 6850
    ATI 4850 in Crossfire (two of them)
    Antec Signature Edition 850Watt Power Supply
    Crucial Ballistix DDR 1600 Memory

    Things I have done to trouble shoot.

    Installed Vista from CD, installed all critical updates from windows update, then installed catalyst 9.3, reboot... Bluescreen referencing atikmdag.sys

    Installed Vista from CD, did not install any updates at all from windows update, then installed catalyst 9.3, reboot.... Bluescreen again.

    Installed Vista from CD, installed al critical updates 'and' proper chipset driver from intel.com, installed catalyst driver 9.3, reboot.... Bluescreen again...

    I don't know what else to do at this point....

    -Pete

    EDIT - I just submitted a ticket with ATI...
    Also, posted at HardOCP with this issue I'm having, hoping for input there as well...
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1404791
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
    willat says thanks.
  16. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Looks like yours worked at some point before this. I just put mine together on Saturday, I haven't been able to get into Windows yet with the drivers installed. It's a little puzzleing that the 8.xx drivers won't install. Most of the files do, but not all.
    I just thought my card was bad, but if you have the same issues, now I'm not sure.
  17. willat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Well, I got the replacement card today. I took the other one out, put the new one in, booted, installed, drivers... and it worked!

    So, there was a problem with the card. I suspected as much, since it was a 100% of the time problem, never booted once with the drivers installed.
  18. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Glad you got this fixed. i too thought it had to be the card after you tried the above suggestions with drivers & Vista updates but with no luck. Well, i hope it serves you well and dont forget to overclock it :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page