1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 4850x2 2gb bad bios flash recover

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by th0m, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi people,

    3 days ago i decided to flash my 4850x2 2gb (http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/products/products_overview.php?gpid=265&grp=3) because it is really noisy.
    I took the two bios (master and slave) on techpowerup video bios collection (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...cturer=&model=HD 4850 X2&interface=&memSize=0) and flashed it under dos with atiflash.
    Now i get a blackscreen (imo I have not the same pn sku than the guy who uploaded the bios and I forgot to dump my 2 bios before flashing it :S) I can still flash it with an 8800 gts on the other pci express port.
    That's why I would really appreciate if anyone here got the 4850x2 2go with
    PN ; 288 40E87 201 SA
    SKU : 11139-00

    Thanks a lot in advance
  2. Antman56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    What made you flash this card? Mine worked perfectly out of the box... it even went into TriFire properly...
  3. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mine was really really noisy, I've seen on reviews that sapphire first distributed a version with a bios which made fan run very fast and after this they corrected it by distributing another version of the card with a new bios that make the fan slow down.
    So I flashed my card with the bios on TPU to see if it would be less noisy and I guess that it doesn't work because this is a bios that isn't compatible with the revision of my card.

    If you have the same PN SKU than me, could you dump the bios using GPU Z please ?

    Thanks
  4. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Glups :s
  5. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nobody can help me ?
  6. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I think I have the same card I will try to post the bios. Mine is very noisy too so if someone can post the new bios for the 2gb model that would be great!
  7. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot eliddm :) Instead of using another bios we have to mod OUR bios with Radeon Bios Editor (RBE) and flash our card ;) When my card will work again I will be able to do this and post the bios in TechPowerUp database
  8. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi just tried to post it with gpuz and I get at step 2 : This BIOS is already part of our collection: 31785.rom
    Where can you see the PN and SKU?
    Thanks
  9. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    on the top of the card (on a green sticker) ;)
  10. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Missed your last post...just read it tell me when you do.....This card is so noisy! I will go back to my evga 8800gt until this problem is fixed. Thanks
  11. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    To do it I need your bios eliddm cuz now i haven't got the right bios, so my card is bricked :s
  12. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok I will check my PN and SKU now. How will I upload it if gpuz prevent me from sending it to the database? Email?
  13. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Have to take out the card from the pc. The numbers are so small. Will be back in 5 minutes
  14. th0m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot :) yep you can "save to file" instead of submit to an online database, btw you have to save the two bios ;)
  15. Cosmo69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I made the same mistake and I have the same PN and SKU.
    Could you please send me the two good bios?

    That would be really great :)

    Bye.
  16. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Someone should post the bios for the 2gb version - the card has been out long enuf...

    I have the same PN too but does the sku matter?
  17. eliddm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Don't know about the sku. send me a private message with email i ll send the files.

    regards

    em
  18. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Thanks man but my card is ok but noisy.
    If you havethe new quiet bios (idle 46c one) plz let me know.:toast:
  19. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Hey guys,

    Sapphire came thru and I flashed the newer master and slave bios.
    Card is very quiet now and even more quiet with the shroud off.
    Not even that loud at all during load.
    Very happy now.

    Funny, my 2 ebay (refurbdoc - he's a great ebay Zalman refurb power seller) Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZV9 VGA Coolers came in yesterday but now my card doesn't need them anymore =)
  20. Jacin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can someone pass along that bios and flash info from Sapphire?

    No one via Sapphire tech seems to know about this bios and suggest I am making things up about its existence.

    Any help would be appreciated.
  21. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Jacin,

    if you have an email that will accept attachments AND you have the 2x2gb version (not 2x1gb version)then send me a P.M. along with your email and serial number of your card to make sure it is ok.
  22. nicholam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I also just flashed my 4850 X2 with the wrong bios. Can I please get the proper OEM bios for this card?

    pn 288-40e87-201sa
    sku# 11139-00

    Please pm me for my email address.
  23. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Any requests CANNOT be GMAIL as gmail does not accept attachments other than pictures and pdf...
  24. nicholam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sent PM. Gmail is my only emal. Would be willing to do an msn file transfer OR take the files unarchived in their .bin format. Please help!
  25. nicholam New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have now joined Yahoo mail for just this. Please mail me the bios's when you can. Thanks again!


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page