1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 7770 1GB OC problem

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by dr.noob, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbtpsl_2WlQ&feature=plcp

    The problem happens only when i watch Youtube videos at more than 240p.
    This seems to be a clock/voltage problem and is the same on XP 32 and W7 64.

    Any tips to fix this?

    edit: I couldnt force 3D clocks with msi afterburner using that unofficial method, i asked Sapphire for a resolution, hope to get a new bios.

    And i couldnt edit the file from AMD profile...

    I had the same problem with my 5770 from Sapphire.

    If i unistall all the AMD driver i can watch Youtube in all formats without any problems, but then i cant play...

    I opened a ticket with Sapphire, still waiting for the bios.

    240p

    [​IMG]

    360p to 1080p i have problems

    [​IMG]

    Here is another video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3J3hqpbIXeQ&list=HL1339721325&feature=mh_lolz

    edit: the flickering was some kind of driver bug...its not happening anymore.

    Sapphire did not respond yet...

    While running Kombustor and watching Youtube at the same time i still have the blue lines problem.

    I think i should return this card...fuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2012
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Could you just confirm that you uninstalled the AMD Catalyst Drivers fully and did a fresh install of these before installing your HD 7770 if the answer is NO; do this first - follow this guide by erocker http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

    This looks like DVI corruption between your vga card and monitor, as you had this issue with the HD 5770 and also the HD 7770 it would suggest it is not the vga card.

    Try another cable, borrow one if you can so you can check this

    you could also try and disable GPU acceleration in internet explorer;

    Control panel/internet options/Advanced tab/Accelerated graphics/[select] Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering*

    Internet Properties.jpg

    nb: Please do not double post use edit, thanks

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  3. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Hi, i´ve tried with DVI in my old monitor and HDMI in the new one, both had the issue.

    A week ago i had one GIGABYTE 7950 3GB without any problems.

    I enabled the software rendering but had no luck.

    Honestly, i dont think that the guide to unistall and install will work, probably will be a waste of time...because this is a fresh install of W7 64 with 12.4.

    Thanks for the reply, ill return the card.

    Look at there support...

    [​IMG]

    Final test!!!WHY?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E2Vj7d_SXxE
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Did you test this with another driver other than Catalyst 12.4? The 12.xx series have issues with some of the AMD/ATI hardware.

    Dose it do this with all web streaming or just youtube?

    nb: try catalyst 11.9 if you still have the same issue with these; RMA the card or return it to the retailer

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
  5. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I have tested with 12,3 and 12,4.For me the memory clock needs more voltage.
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    One thing I noticed is with Youtube and WIndows Windows Media Player- is they dont like overclocks for video cards. Run the card at its factory intended speed. I know its overclocked already- but one thing to try is to lower the speed further than 1GHz and see if the problem stops- if it stops return the card for another or keep it and see how it does in games.

    Also when is the last time you had a fresh OS?

    What is Kombustor?

  7. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Hi, i did a fresh OS to fix this 2 days ago.

    Kombustor is the gpu burner from Msi Afterburner overclock tool.

    Proof that now is 1125, but i think this non oc vbios has less voltage...

    [​IMG]
    I already flashed it to the non OC version, same thing...Sappire ticket(i opened it 14/6) is taking too long, they didnt respond me, in the end i told them to f...I flashed it back without any problems.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page