1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 7950 Boost GPU Current and VRM too low readings

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by moonsgravity, Jul 17, 2013.

  1. moonsgravity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyone else having wrong readings of Gpu current and VRM power on their 7950? Gpu-z also report same numbers.

    http://imgur.com/iIFtKBo

    My Specs :

    i5 3570
    Gigabyte z77 ud3h
    8gb gskill
    Sapphire 7950 boost dual x no oc
    Win 8

    Screenshot after running bf3 multiplayer

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,155 (13.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    It's voltage droop and your card seems to have it pretty bad.
  3. moonsgravity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Uhmmm what can i do about it and is it a factory defect? Never really overclocked this card but did change fan settings in ccc overdrive once.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have a pair of the same cards the vdroop is pretty bad they overclock just fine, but you need to push the voltage up.

    If you are leaving it stock and it doesn't crash it is fine.
  5. moonsgravity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I forgot to add, I took the screenshot after running bf3 multiplayer for 3 min. So that was maximum readings on load.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    So it boosts up to 925mhz and runs the GPU at 99% sounds like a perfectly functioning card.
  7. moonsgravity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ya but it does get loud sometimes. Since you have the same card maybe can post a screenshot of it under load? Its just that .3A for current and .3W for vrm power seems just abnormal.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    The software might be reading yours wrong

    [​IMG]

    Mine peaks at something rediculous if I remember correctly something like 40A.
  9. moonsgravity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok nevermind i think its giving good reading now. Got a bad vdroop though.

    [​IMG]
  10. _larry

    _larry

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    180 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    It's more than likely the boost BIOS. A lot of them throttle the voltage pretty bad. I stuck with the stock BIOS and just used sapphire TRIXX for my overclocks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page