1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire 7970 OC

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Irocing, May 7, 2012.

  1. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)

    Attached Files:

  2. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Good deal I say
     
  3. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,526
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Enjoy it. Lovely cards :toast:
     
  4. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)
    Thanks guys,

    First time going with Sapphire, As last 4 or 5 gens have been with XFX.

    Will be trying to enable CF out of habit for awhile as gone that way for long time.:laugh:

    Hope its Stable as my 5770's have been.;)

    Later:)
     
  5. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Sapphire is great. I've had a dozen of their cards and never had an issue.

    Good buy!
     
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I owned two Sapphire HD 7970's Reference... Great cards no problems period!
     
  7. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)
    Thanks,
    See you have two.

    Thru with CF for awhile and will save some money going single.
    Card takes up 2/ 1/2 slots anyway and my last cards only took up two and
    were stacked togeather in 16x lanes.

    Have enough water to cool 3 GPU,s and CPU but Air will do on the card for now.

    Later:)
     
  8. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Water cooling that model is going to be tough..... take it from someone who owned two with water cooling. I was able to do mine because they were reference cards. These are not.... so a full cover water block will be almost for sure out of the question.
    You might think..... well I could do a universal water block.... and most times I would agree with you. But this will be hard too.... why because of the extra heat shim around the CPU die on these cards. The copper will not sit flush. There is away to work around it.....Stick one of these in between might work

    But that is most likely the only way to get that model of the HD 7970 to be water cooled. Just thought I would a FYI. If you can get it water cooled.... this card will kick some ass and run very very cool!

    ** Note**
    After examining the PCB from this model and the reference HD 7970 .... this might just be a reference card with a different cooler. Maybe.... but I can't tell for sure since I can't examine the top of the PCB nor do I own this version of the card.

    After looking a little more I found a couple of discrepancies..... but it still may possibly work. They are very minimum
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  9. Albuquerque New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I have the Sapphire 7970OC and I've had excellent luck with it. It stays very cool and has more than enough oomph to push my Dell U2711 around. Great price too :D
     
  10. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)
    Thanks for the heads up and the info.

    When it gets here going to take pics of it, But don't know if want to pull the housing on it in
    case of problems and RMA.

    May wait and see if someone else gives it a shot with this card and the outcome.
    But only if turns out to be a good card as to clocking and voltage.

    Don't think would go Universal on the block as still have the vrm's to worry about and thats an added expense if even available for the card.

    Have good case cooling and air flow with this case, Running 9 fans in good positions.

    Relatively new card and will see if popular enough for them to address the block for it.
    Be nice, But another 100+ buck pop.
    Running just a 26" 1920x1200 Sammy and, Maybe upgrade to a 28 or 30" (Slightly) higher
    rez monitor on down the line, When prices drop.

    Air for now.

    Thanks again for info.

    Later;)
     
  11. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,963 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,388
    I had a watercooled Sapphire referece cooler that overclocked like a beast, until it died on me. I sent it back for RMA, and they replaced it with another reference card, although one with a higher default voltage. So all in all, it went well, with a quick turn around time. 1st GPU RMA and no real complaints.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Irocing

    Irocing New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    41 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    AZ (Area 52)
    Was going to sell my 5770's but decided to keep them just in case have to
    RMA if problems and no Down time on turnaround.
    Keep one for backup and the other for a secondary rig.

    Never had to RMA any Vid cards and have had dozens.
    Been lucky I guess.
    And always use the EGG getting them.

    Later:)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page