1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire ATI 9600 PRO

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by dacruz, Dec 25, 2004.

1. dacruz New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi.

I have been reading around the forums and trying to find more info on the Sapphire ATI 9600 PRO. I am new to this overclocking business. I am a bit overwhelmed with the amount of info on the site and have no idea where to begin. First in the agenda is the fact that I have a Sapphire ATI 9600 PRO. Its pretty good as it is but when it come to games like Joint Ops I get very low fps in close battles. And thats with all settings with the lowest options on. Perhaps overclocking can help to increase the fps a bit then having to buy a new card, forking 400-500$ :eek: can do some damage on the wallet. I downloaded the latest drivers and ATITOOL 0.0.22 but since I have a 9600 it asked me to download Softmodded Catalyst Package, which I have but hesitant to install. To add to the confusion I read the article titled ATI BIOS Collection which just made everything that more confusing. :(

1. Is it even wise trying to overclock the Sapphire ATI 9600 PRO for games?
    2. If so, where exactly do I begin? (steps?)

PC SPECS:

Asus A7N8X DELUXE
    AMD 2600
    1 Gig of ram
    Sapphire ATI 9600 PRO

Thank You. :) and Merry X-mas! ;)

Last edited: Dec 25, 2004
  2. GoLLuM4444 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Overclocking is fine when simply done with ATiTool, it's hardmodding and bios flashing that are more risky things to improve performance. To overclock juse use ATiTool to find you max memory and core frequencies. There are various guides and forum posts about using ATiTool to overclock all over the site and it's fairly self-explanatory. Hope you get some good results.

3. The Rage New Member

Thanks Received: