1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3870 X2 1024MB

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by UrbanShark, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. UrbanShark

    UrbanShark New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3870 X2 1024MB is arriving Monday and would like to know what its overclockability is like?
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Not very good from what I hear. Its already got faster clocks than a normal 3870 tho.
     
  3. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    There isnt really much overclocking potential on stock cooling m8 they do run hot having 2 cores a very mild oc shouldnt hurt but i think youll be pleased with the preformance anyway
    check out my thread about it.
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52334
     
  4. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    If you have a good case like the Antec Nine Hundred, you might be able to overclock it better then in the reviews, but don't expect miracles...
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I just picked up the Visiontek 3870 X2 for an amazing price. I'm gonna try it out for 30 days and see if I like it. I don't have an 8-pin PCI-E power connector, so I'm currently manufacturing one :) I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  6. UrbanShark

    UrbanShark New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    8-6 Pin Connector

    On the card their is a 6pin and a 8pin when connected this way ATI Overdrive appears, but you can connect by a 6pin to the 8pin and will work, ATI Overdrive icon disappears????

    Not sure y??
     
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    The 2 extra pins on an 8-Pin PCI-E connector are grounds. ATi Overdrive will only work when there are grounds supplied to these two pins. So your findings are exactly what ATi intended. Without the extra grounds, they don't want you OCing the card. Why? Ask them.

    I made my own adapter since I didn't have an 8-pin, and it opened up overdrive. When it's not connected, the option disappears.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page