1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 3870 Atomic Edition

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
  2. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Very nice, thorough review W1zz (as usual). Just one question. When you show the GPU idle/load temps, is that after the card was OC by you to 864/1251, or the stock Saphire OC?
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    idle + load are at the clocks out of the box (sapphire clocks), Load+OC is with the maximum OC i reached
    Hawk1 says thanks.
  4. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Thanks, very nice looking card. Now get going on the 3870x2 review for Monday (and how come I cant add smileys since this morning :( - this is manually typed in )
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    benchmarks are running right now :)
  6. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    That kinda makes me sad, hopefully youll review it again with the correct drivers that are suppose to be released on the 28th.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    wow, just <24 hrs ago we were talking about the cards reaching your place. Nice review, W1z.

    The packaging reminds me of the Radeon X1950 XTX Uber edition set from ATI. There should be a mention that while the card is slightly overpriced and that its performance per dollar takes a hit, at $299.99, it we must realise that the bundled accessories, the packaging, the cold-cathode tube, the cooling mechanism's ingenuity more than makes up for the price. I love this card, so far it's the fastest card using an ATI GPU.
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    amd told me "use that driver for your review".. so what am i supposed to do. i doubt there are any miracle drivers
  9. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    spitze:rockout::rockout:
  10. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Hey W1zzard, just something that I noticed and thought I'd point out

    On page 4-A Closer Look, you state that:

    "The GDDR3 memory chips are made by Samsung and carry the model number K4U52324QE-BC08. With 0.8ns they are the fastest GDDR3 memory chips available on the market today and should be able to handle at least 1250 MHz (if the memory controller in the GPU can handle that speed)."

    If I'm not mistaken, these are GDDR4 :toast:
  11. Para_Franck

    Para_Franck

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I am not sure about these particular memory modules, but from my knowledge, all 3870 come with GDDR4 memory.

    the 3850's come with GDDR3 memory modules (I think I saw one model with GDDR4m wich cost more than 3870..... pointless)

    Para_Franck
  12. 0V3CHKiN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm curious to see how this card handles CSS/HL2 @ 1920x1200. I would like to return to single slot cooling.
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
  14. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Great review Wizz:toast:
    Do you have any idea what the Vcore is on the card? 864 is a good OC on stock Vcore for a 3870,I'm thinking these cards may have "cherry" cores to keep the heat down.
    The pink foam reminds me of when I first opened my 1975 Gibson SG case and seen pink lining,It's like G.I Joe living in a Barbie dream castle:laugh:
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
  16. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I'm guessing Sapphire wouldn't like it if you flashed with the unlocked bios and did a Vmod.
  17. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,361
    i don't have the slightest idea. if you try this let us know your results
  19. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah, I will flash it this evening to see what happens. The Atomic card looks like it is based on the reference design so I guess the only thing to take into account would be the fan speed. Did the Atomic card ramp fan speed or was it at one setting all through testing?
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,487 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,898
    Just set both cards to 100% fan speed. Make sure both clocks are identical. It should very well work.
  21. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Flashed the card with Winflash and all went well. I was using a BIOS that gave clocks of 830/1200Mhz and opened up a wider range of clock speeds. However, I will keep this one whilst on stock cooling, even though it restricts max clocks to 885/1387Mhz.

    I played Armed Assault for a couple of hours tonight with no hitches and can recommend this BIOS to other Sapphire 3870 users. As I have had to do with all previous BIOS, I set fan speed to 70% in Rivatuner whilst gaming to keep temps down.
  22. Jor3llBR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    162 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Sapphire HD 3870 to Sapphire Atomic 3870?

    Did you flash the HD3870 with no Volt Mods? Did it work well?

    I have too cards I wonder If I have to flash one at a time (with the other one out of the case) and then Crossfire again?
  23. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yeah, my card has no volt mods applied. The flash did seem to work well but I have discovered that my card doesn't like the memory at 1200Mhz. I have since re-flashed my card with a stock Sapphire BIOS and have set clocks to 825/1175Mhz. Of course, your card might be different...

    No idea about flashing Crossfire cards, I am afraid.
  24. Jor3llBR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    162 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Tx for the swift reply.

    I see, but how do you set those clocks, I'm using Catalyst to try and set the clocks but always when I access Atitool the clocks are lower...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page