1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 3870 X2 Atomic Watercooled

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,382 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,218
    another excellent review. i cant imagine spending $210 more for a graphics card that isnt much faster than the standard version. real world performance increase will be at a minimum.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Well, the reasoning behind the incress has probably due to the fact it has that water block hooked right on to it. But I'm with you on spending that money easy!
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    you could probably pop off the all in one watercooler, hook up the card to a real loop, then use the allinone as a sweet little setup for a cpu in an HTPC or something :)
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I wonder why they cooled one side of the memory at all. If your not going to cool memory on both sides then whats the point?


    All they did is increase the temps more by doing that IMO.
  6. Wester547 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I do feel $550 could be better spent, but, besides that...

    The 7900 GTX seems to have abruptly disappeared from the Quake 4 charts when every card was tested at 1600x1200, though every card seemed to have been getting rather sporadic frame-rates in that benchmark. Not sure if Quake 4 doesn't handle FSAA well, or if it that's just one of the most stupefyingly intensive portions of the game as I've heard.
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    7900 gtx kept crashing in the quake 4 benchies with the current driver so its not listed
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    That's a brilliant observation. :eek: My friend's HD3870 Atomic (non-X2) was confiscated at our airport. They let him off after:

    • An engineer was called to the airport and dissemble the card completely
    • Using a Geiger-Muller counter, the product was checked for radioactivity.
    • The packaging material was cut/dissembled and thoroughly checked.
    • The product discs were checked for suspicious content.

    Poor guy had to pay $150 as charge to the customs dept.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page