1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 6950 2GB unlock

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Durvelle27, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I was thinking about trying to unlock the shaders on my Sapphire HD 6950 2GB. i want to know how can i do this. Also what will be some good drivers for it ? Thx for any help received :)

    this is the card i ordered

    SAPPHIRE 100312-3L Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR...


    **UPDATE** 9/12/12

    Keep getting this error

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  3. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,308 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,557
    Have you tried using the bios switch? Many reviews on Newegg show that the other bios position has 6970 specs, or at least partially. Give that a shot.
     
    INSTG8R and Law-II say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Sorry forgot to mention i won't have the card physically till Monday or Tuesday ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,018 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    My first thought too. Sapphire are getting "stealthy" with their model number on their site. So makes it hard to spot the differences. But yeah Sapphire always give you that little bit "extra" Why I have been using them for GENERATIONS!:rockout: NEVER let me down yet.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yea i just read that on newegg two half of all the reviews were successful with just the bios switch
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,733 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,200
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have this card and it unlocked for the previous owner and still it unlocked!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    how did you do yours BIOs switch or Change BIOs
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,733 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,200
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You would have to ask the original owner Jstn7477
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    ok
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,911 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My card, the one Brandonwh64 is talking about, had 2 BIOS banks and a switch. The primary BIOS had the standard 1408 shaders @ 800MHz, and the secondary BIOS had all 1536 shaders unlocked @ 800MHz. All I did was flip the switch and it turned into a pseudo-6970.

    Sapphire released a ton of different revisions of the same card, some of which were capable and some that were not (my guess is they may have used some good and some defective chips). My advice is to look for a BIOS switch and flip it to each position to see what settings are stored on each ROM.

    I wouldn't really recommend flashing it if possible, unless you absolutely have a 100% understanding of what may happen and how to revert to the original backed up ROM. I see countless people bricking cards of all types every day on this forum thinking they will make their card better by "upgrading the BIOS." Some vendors even go as far as turning write protection on their cards to prevent these problems. My card also seemed to have a pretty low PowerTune throttling threshold (I may be mistaken) so don't expect to unlock it and get 1GHz out of the core or something. Ran mine at 840/1375.
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    this is the card i got half of them had success with just flipping the switch

    SAPPHIRE 100312-3L Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,911 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I had a 100312-3SR and I think the results were about the same.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    from the reviews about about 97%
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,018 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Don't worry about it. He was "Stealth Spamming"
     
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    oh ok thx.... card should be here tomorrow so i will get that up and running then try the BIOs switch ?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,018 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Fingers crossed.
     
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i also ordered 8GB of DDR3 1600MHz RAM

    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,018 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Can't complain about that either get it while it's cheap
     
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    any second now eh?
     
  23. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i hope

    :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    watching this thread. I got three cards still, have had 6 now, let's see what ya get. ;)
     
  25. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    it will be here later today
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page