1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD 7970 Toxic 6144 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. Nihilus

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    217 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Tweaktown did one on the vapor-x 7950 today. It traded blows with the HD 7970. Fantastic bang for the buck.
     
  2. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    :shadedshu

    for what you can get for the price of this, still whoever buys it(not me), have fun with that money sapphire
     
  3. commander calamitous New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is that a typo I see on the box. "Out best" ever
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,387 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Honestly this is a nice card, but in reality, you can spend 200 dollars less for a GHz edition which is not very far behind in the Frame Game and even put a better cooler on it for less than this card.
     
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,829 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Good catch! Indeed that looks like a typo to me ;)
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,387 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    This is known as Fat Fingering
     
  7. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,180 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    At least this cooler is unmachable in performance, 256W @ 69C, that is nuts.
     
  8. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    433 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Well people what did you expect?? $600? 550?
    We're talking about the king of the hill here, the world's fastest single gpu card.
    Of course it commands a price premiun.
     
  9. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,220 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Ehhh, there is another card with the same specs, minus the memory (which doesnt matter ONE bit), for $250 less.

    I could see this coming in at $550 or $600 at the most, but $700 is off the chain for something that can be accomplished with a reference card. I mean hell, you can get a card WITH a waterblock on it for less and it would has a decent chance at out overclocking it due to the cooler. Even arguably the best 7970's for overclocking, the MSI Lightning and Asus DCUII are $180 or more less.
     
  10. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    433 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    1200 core, memory oc for $450! wow!
    Link?

    PD: For the record, i wouldn't buy this card of course, but still it's the fastest single gpu card on the planet so it will be sold at a huge premiun, that's just how things are, and they are going to sell them all.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  11. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,180 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    834
    No 1200Mhz man but as long as your arms work you should use an overclocking software :)
     
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,220 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    But its not... I just said that. There are others just as fast out of the box that arent fetching near the premium. Sure, it doesnt have 6GB of vRAM, but its not needed. I just cant wrap my head around its place in the market for those in the know.

    LIke this one: GIGABYTE GV-R797TO-3GD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition ...

    That card doesnt have the 1200Mhz speeds, but hey, thats overclocking to me as its not the stock clock for the card. And if you want to do it via the bios instead of software on another card... flash it. Now, I understand people dont want to mess with that stuff but still, the premium is off the chain for what the card really is (IMO).
     
  13. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    433 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Overcloking of the sapphire is done and guaranteed by sapphire, so i can safely say it's 1200 out of the box.
    And hey i also think it's overpriced, but then again what other card can do that without losing the warranty.
    E-pen lol, braggin stuff.

    Btw, it's already out of stock.
     
  14. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,220 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    647
    Its 1100Mhz out of the box. You need to make an adjustment(bios switch) to get it to 1200Mhz. BUT that is just nitpicking.

    None, but as we agree, its not remotely worth the price as is the general sentiment of people...
     
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,689
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    One of my toxic 5850's is messed up do to heat.. The top card in my crossfire setup is creating artifacts.. :( This is not the first Sapphire card to do this because of heat. It's going to take a lot for me to ever buy another sapphire product. They screwed me out of voltage control on the 5850 as well.. [/rant] Sorry, I just took a deep breath.. lol Honestly, I would just buy a stock card and overclock it. Oh and Sapphire's Warranty is shitty with only a 2 year warranty.. If my card had a 3 year warranty.. I could send it back for a replacement.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus did the same to me on my 5870 mindweaver, what made it even worse was the card was advertised/marketed as being capable of this! It was actually the main selling point of that card.

    Just another example of a big company using false advertising to make $$$ off of people and another reason why I will never purchase/reccomend any Asus products :cool:

    Owned quite a few Sapphire cards over the years and would gladly use them again :)

    @ W1zz Nice review as always :toast:
     
  17. leopr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I agree its a great cooler but the Accelero 7970 is better.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,387 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453

    proof please
     
  19. leopr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    My results after running Heaven benchmark @ 8x MSAA / 16x AF / Tess @ Extreme:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Highest temp: 63 degrees with the card OCed to 1225/1650 (29 degrees ambient temp). Check out the Toxic temps @ 1200/1600 and i am not even considering noise.

    So...thats enough for you ? As i said the Toxic cooler is pretty amazing but the Accelero 7970 is way better and quieter.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012
  20. xplodpb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    22 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, guys, with the price drop, which card do you recommend, a GTX 670 or a HD 7970? Thanks!
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,387 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    start a new topic on this, this is a review here
     
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i was hooping for a 2x solution from sapphire..
     
  23. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,182 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Location:
    CZ
    There is a reason for all that VRAM and Noise ain't that big a deal

    when you CF your cards the VRAM doesn't stack so you technically still have 3GB of VRAM because both cards are storing basically the same information in the VRAM so lets say you go for 5 monitors with 3 3GB cards sure you have a physical capacity of 9GB but the cards don't share the vram so you still have 3GB to run 5 monitors and thats when you really start needing 6GB as five landscape 1080p will give you 10 megapixels the same amount can be achieved using 3 1440p monitors and if you get 3 1600p monitors you have 12 megapixels six times the amount of 1080p. 1080p needs 1-2GB to run fine so 6GB cards do make sense for people with 10+ megapixels. As for noise just put a universal WB on it and use a side fan for the ram and VRMs. I actually own a regular Vapor-x and have the fans set to even more agressive settings hitting 90% speed at 68C resulting noise is not that bad much better then my RMAed 590 which was rather high pitched when it hit over 80% fan speed. The Vapor-x cooler is loud but doesn't give of an annoying noise that you can't hear over music and definitely not over the sounds of destruction in video games as it has a very similar frequency to the sound of collapsing buildings and lighter automatic weapons.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2012
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,387 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    i seen no point of bringing a month old topic back, especially when most know about the SLI and CrossFire Limitations.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page