1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD4830 shows 800 Shaders

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by pointykitty, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just purchased a Sapphire HD4830 and have checked using the current production 0.2.8 gpu-z and the test build from the test build forum, and both are showing 800 shaders:

    [​IMG]

    The default clocks are those of a 4830. Do I have an mismarked and underclocked 4850? Or is gpu-z getting erroneous information from the BIOS? I'm also interested in how gpu-z gets the hardware information. I first heard about gpu-z from the stories about the initial batch of HIS cards with the non-production BIOS under-reporting the shaders, so I assumed that the info comes straight from the BIOS.
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Interesting...
     
  3. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Hmm. Isn't suppose to be 1200 shaders?
     
  4. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Agreed. I upped the clocks to default 4850 clocks using Overdrive and I saw extremely occasional and slight graphics corruption while playing HL2 E2. I reduced the memory to the clock shown in the screenshot and have seen no corruption in a few hours of gameplay. I think the memory could really use heatsinks. I have a feeling the core could crank up significantly, but I just don't need to stress it for the games and resolutions I'm playing at the moment.
     
  5. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, it should be 640.
     
  6. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Dam i'm blind. I was reading hd4830x2 and I'm so dumb i forgot it wasn't released.
     
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Best way to find out is to run 3DMark and compare what W1z got. Taking out CPU out of the calculation you should get an idea whats going on.
     
  8. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good point. I guess I need to obtain 3dMark06. Stay tuned.
     
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    hmm... interesting .. ...


    but i'm not going to get my hopes up,

    its a bug most likely
     
  10. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Honestly, that's what I think as well. The 4830s have a separate driver download from the 48xx series at the moment, and the fan speed/control on this Sapphire doesn't show up in the 8.10 catalyst control panel. Currently it starts running full (loudish) speed whenever the card hits 35c, cools it down to 31 and shuts off. edit: gpu-z doesn't reflect fan speeds at all.
     
  11. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah, mystery solved. Whilst waiting for 3dmark to download I searched for W1z's thread about his 4830 tests and he linked a newer gpu-z which shows 640 shaders:

    [​IMG]

    'Twas likely a bug in reading the register containg this info. Sorry to get anyone's hopes up. His thread regarding the 4830 is still interesting reading:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=74477&highlight=4830
     
  12. christof139 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    447 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Detroit, Motown, Michigan.
    Great card for its price. Chris
     
  13. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is, I'm very happy with it so far. Hopefully with the next driver update I'll get some fan control through the catalyst control center and I think I'll be set.
     
  14. afa3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    pointykitty - I accidentally found that Catalyst 8.11 will give some manual control over the 4830 fan speed. It's probably not what you want, however.

    I also have the Sapphire HD 4830. I also like it, but would like to tone down the idle fan speed. My case temp runs 35C+, so the fan is on all the time and as you know, it isn't quiet.

    I downloaded 8.11, not realizing that it apparently doesn't support the 4830. When the driver didn't install, I assumed something was messed up, so I forced Vista to install the 8.11 4800 series driver anyway.

    Then CCC 8.11 showed the manual fan speed control in Overdrive. Minimum value is 20%, however, so it doesn't help to lower idle speed. If you manually edit the profile .xml file, it just ignores anything less than 20%. It's also a constant setting, so it doesn't let you dial in a new profile, just set a constant speed.

    Since the 8.11 install, I reinstalled the 8.10 driver again, then 8.11 again to do some more experimenting. At the moment, CCC doesn't show the fan control in Overdrive, but editing the .xml will set it. Probably re-installing CCC 8.11 would bring the Overdrive GUI control back, but I don't really need it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2008
  15. pointykitty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @afa3

    Yeah, my fan cycles on and off every few minutes. It's slightly obnoxious but I can live with it for now. That's interesting about the xml file. I didn't think about profiles in CCC as I've never used them before. I guess setting that wouldn't help with idle times anyway since it would only activate with overdrive during a 3d session? I think I'll wait for 8.12 and see if they include the 4830 and what can be done there. Otherwise maybe ATI Tray Tools could help with setting a fan profile.
     
  16. 1/2 bent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Mine still shows 800 with gpu-z 0.2.8.0 Is there another version??
     

    Attached Files:

    • gpu2.jpg
      gpu2.jpg
      File size:
      24.6 KB
      Views:
      291
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page