1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Hd5850, Is bios flash worth it ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by teribilis, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. teribilis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have a non ref HD5850

    [​IMG]

    I'm able to overclock it, and even changing voltage ONLY with Sapphire TRIXX originaly designed for 6X00 series.

    But as it is a non ref PCB, is a bios flash possible to unlock voltage, and keep the OC in the chip ?
     
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    i have been looking closely at the 5850 recently, by all accounts u cannot access the voltage controller on a non-reference 5850 BUT i have read you can flash the 5850 with a 5870 (non-reference card) BIOS to give it the 5870 voltage 1.162-1.175 (dependant on BIOS) as opposed to the 5850 volts of 1.088. I will be trying this as soon as i commit to a 5850.

    i plan on flashing (when i get a card) the 5850 toxic to 5870 vapor-x BIOS, so hopefully all should flash well.

    I cannot confirm this works and i cannot advise you to do it, but, the choice and risk is yours.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  3. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    753 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    only reference and a few (like HAWK and TWINFROZR series for example) HD5800/5700 offer voltage control...

    only way is a bios with upped voltages..
     
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    i'm not saying you should mind - but did you try the 5850-5870 bios flash per chance???
     
  5. meran

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    baghdad/iraq
    trixx works just fine ,i have toxic 5850 at stock volts i get 920/1325 i can change voltages but all i get is 1000mhz so it doesnt worth the extra
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,041 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,424
    hmmmm, I have the exact same card as this and i have used sapphire trixx to try n get voltage tweaking but its never worked for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page