1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD7870 Ghz Edition Dual-X Black Screen issue on 2 cards now; help!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Giznat, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. Giznat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Evening Gents!

    So to cut to the quick and dirty of it all I've recently purchased a SAPPHIRE HD7870 GHz EDITION 2GB GDDR5 and I am having quite a few issues with the card (sadly). The biggest issue at hand (which is happening in almost every game I play, namely Guild Wars 2, Dead Space 3 (now) and Path of Exile / Diablo 3) is the monitor screen displays vertical lines of varying color (sometimes they're blue, or orange/brown or even grey) even though the sound is playing in the background followed by me being required to reboot my computer because the signal does not return. From my understanding (from researching the issue and seeing what others have experienced) this is the "Black Screen" bug that was supposedly recified in recent 7870's, however, I've now experienced it on 2 seperate cards of the same make/brand (both my original and the ExpressRMA'd replacement from NCIX.com)

    With that said, do you all happen to have any suggestions as to how I should proceed? I've already tried updating all my various motherboard drivers, bios(s), etc. I've also tried a plethora of drivers from 12.6 to the latests 13.2 Beta 4's and additionally I've tried increasing the fan speed under the assumption that it's overheating (it's never gotten above 60 degrees). With all that said, is there maybe a new BIOS I am not aware of that I can flash on the card to maybe increase the voltage to stabalize the card (though that seems a bit extreme and unnessary when it's running at stocks 1000 core and 1200 memory).

    This is now my second SAPPHIRE HD7870 GHz EDITION 2GB GDDR5 and it's showing the same symptoms as my first one (minus some strange artifacts that were present on my original SAPPHIRE HD7870 GHz EDITION 2GB GDDR5 purchased on December 25th, 2012).

    Anyways! Thank you for taking the time to read this, I look forward to seeing your response.
    I've also attached a more detailed look at the components of my PC below which will hopefully help:

    Main Hardware Information:

    CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K Unlocked Quad Core Processor LGA1155 3.4GHZ Ivy Bridge 6MB

    RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme 16GB 4X4GB DDR3 1866MHZ PC3-15000 9-11-9-27 1.65V

    Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45

    Video Card: SAPPHIRE HD7870 GHz EDITION 2GB GDDR5 (11199-16-20g)

    PSU: XFX 750W PRO750W XXX Edition Single Rail ATX 12V 62A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply 80PLUS Silver

    Other Hardware Information :

    Monitor: ASUS PA238QR 23" LCD Monitor with LED

    HDD/SSDs: Western Digital WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLHX 300GB 10000 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

    Other PCI/PCI-X Cards: N/A

    Optical Drives: N/A

    Software Information:

    Operating System : Windows 7 Pro (64-Bit)
     
  2. brispuss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    NZ
    It may be a faulty card (hardware issue).

    I had a very similar problem with another video card sometime ago. My card was replaced with another which solved the problem.

    You could try another RMA and see if the second identical replacement card works better. Or, if possible, try to get another make/model of card instead.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    Have you tried a different video cable?
     
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Have you tried a different model card in the system or is the 7870 the first card installed on this machine?
     
  5. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    were you perhaps upgrading from a nvidia card?
     
  6. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,926 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    I know AMD knows there is an issue and are keeping quiet about this.

    I just returned a 7870GHz edition as well. Similar issues as you.

    They are really powerful cards for what they are but the defect rate is getting out of hand.
     
  7. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I've bought 3 or 4 Sapphire cards in the past and every single one has been junk. Their service is terrible too, so I haven't bought any of their products since.

    My .02
     
  8. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Well, wasn't there're news about Sapphire's 7870 card have problems, like the black screen you mentioned? I think that might be the problem, don't know if they've fixed it.
     
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The revised versions were supposed to be released in May.
     
  10. maclgallant New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same issue

    i also have the sapphire Dual-X hd 7870

    i got horizontal lines, audio in the background
    also the black screens

    i'm in the process of doing an RMA

    currently the ASUS HD 7870 is on sale i may ask them to exchange for the asus brand
    let me know how it goes,

    nothing more frustrating that faulty hardware!!!

    this is the card


    http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=78690


    Part #: 11199-16-20G

    i herd some people getting it replaced with a

    11199-16-40G

    but when i look up 11199-16-40G
    it only shows up on euro retailers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page