1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire HD7950 Dual X OC 950mhz Edition

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by SonDa5, May 29, 2012.

  1. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Checking in with Sapphire Dual X OC HD7950 950mhz edition.

    Just got it a few hours ago.

    Photos of it.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Please comment about the PCB.


    Looks like it is 1 VRM short of the HD7970 Dual X Sapphire version. I don't see any other differences from the Dual X HD7970 version.
     
    TotalChaos and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Reference PCB, seen it before and you're correct with the VRM setup.

    How does your card perform?
     
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,541 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,694
    Hmm... Yes... That is PCB... I see vrm... memory... OH LOOK A GPU... and that is the extent of my knowledge of pcb.

    On an unsarcastic note, how is saphires dual x in terms of sound and cooling performance? I have read good things in reviews. Whats your take?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    Is that reference PCB for HD7950 or HD7970?

    From what I have seen this is more like a beefed up reference HD7970. Even has the 1x6pin + 1x8pin power connector.


    Haven't had time to set it up yet. Was expecting it tomorrow. Have a water cooled CPU and GTX 560ti 448 in right now so will take some time to get the loop reconfigured with only CPU and make room for slightly larger HD7950.
     
  5. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    The unmarked die.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
  7. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Extremely quiet. Too quiet. I think the fans don't push enough air. Some bigger fans or different higher static pressure fans would probably make more noise but improve the cooling. As it stand with the stock cooler on max I was able to get stable over clocks to around 1250mhz. With water cooling I'm up to 1350mhz stable over clocks.
     
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,915
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    Haven't ran furmark at 1325mhz and probably wont. I'm gaming stable at 1300/1700 with 1.25v

    With MCW82-7900 block at lower speeds running furmark

    Using Sapphire TRIXX to adjust clocks and voltage.

    Just a quick 10 minute test at 1205/1575
    VDDC set to 1.15v
    Board Power Li at +15
    Abient Temps 27C


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  10. bartsrevolution New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great scores , but your vrm need some more efective cooling solution :) and maybe 1400mhz don`t be a challenge
     
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,541 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,694
    Really? Extremely quiet? The heatsink looks almost identical to my msi tw2 but with a different shroud. It isn't that quiet. Nice clocks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344


    The heat sink on the PCB has is better because it is divided between VRMs and memory. Heat is isolated that way. The VRM heatsink is larger and has bigger fins.


    You can get an idea of what I mean with this photo:


    [​IMG]



    Also I have MSI TF3 heatsink on my MSI GTX 560 ti 448 and it is louder.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  13. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I'm working on a copper VRM base plate to put on VRMs and then I will top it off with a small Koolance VRM water block.
    VRM TEMPS can get hot but I have not seen them higher than 110C running furmark at 1200/1575. That was with the stock heat sink. With the stock heat sink off my temps are about 15C lower. I can lower them more if I point a fan right at the VRM heat sinks. I still want to water cool the VRMs.

    Ran similar set up on my GTX 560 ti 448.

    [​IMG]

    Hook me up with HD7970 BIOS that is compatible to flash. :D
     
  14. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    HWinfo64 is working better for temp sensors on my card.


    This looks better on the VRMs.


    1205/1575
    Board Power Li +15
    VDDC 1150
    Ambient Temp 27C

    [​IMG]
     
  15. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Excuse me but a fullcover block wouldn't be better at this point?
     
  16. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    No. I'm satisfied with the MCW82 7900 block and temps.
     
  17. zargana

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    49 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have also sapphire 7950 (with blue board, this must be the flex version), its really quiet. And the temperatures (in room over 25c) raised 70c under furmark over-burn test.

    When the fan speeds are over %70, you start to realize there is "something in the case", otherwise you don't know if your card fans working or not.

    Also the dual-x solution as sound its faraway from msi cooling solution.

    Sapphire with the dual-x cooling solution hits bullseye.
     
  18. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
  19. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I didn't mean about performance but the nightmarish tube routing you'd need to do with 4 fittings on a single gpu, it would be easier :)

    Is Swiftech going to make a vrm+memory heatsink that is compatible with the MCW82 like they did in the past for their universal blocks? That would be easier too :)
     
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Yes.

    This is it.


    http://www.swiftech.com/hd7900-hsf.aspx


    My VRM temps are fine with stock heat sink though.
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,541 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,694

    I was going to get an antec 620 and attach it with a bracket to my 6950 now, and later a 7970. That route is silent and complete overkill for any gpu. I then found an artic xtreme 7970 with the 3 fans for a great price. Should be here this week.

    When I do get a 7970 I will be getting a saphire. I have heard nothing but good things about them and you both convinced me. Especially those pictures of the stock heatsinks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
  23. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    It may be easier but would it work as good? :lol:

    Nightmarish???? Not. Sounds like fun to me. :)

    I'm fortunate to have a Swiftech Apogee HD block which makes parallel cooling easier. :cool:


    My RIG configured in this "nightmarish" configuration with a MSI TF3 PE/OC GTX 560 ti 448.


    [​IMG]
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Here's the reference 7970 unlocked bios
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    SonDa5 says thanks.
  25. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,095 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Untill now, noone has succeeded in unlocking their 7950's to 7970's right?

    Also, I just ran that HWiNFO64 program, and it reports my 7950 has 2048 useable shaders, but I guess thats just a bug or flaw.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page