1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Intros GDDR4 Memory-Equipped Radeon HD 4670

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,525 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The Radeon HD 4670 graphics processor made itself some place in the sub-$100 graphics market. AMD's partners maintained profitability as the production costs of this accelerator remained low. Its opponent, the GeForce 9600 GSO, though available in its price-range makes it difficult for its manufacturers to sell at low price-points owing to it being based on the G92 graphics processor. Eventually, NVIDIA found a way around with releasing the GeForce 9600 GSO+ SKU, where the G94 GPU with reduced shader core count was employed. This made sure NVIDIA's partners brought in aggressive pricing to counter the Radeon HD 4670.

    Sapphire on its part, put innovation to the table and attempted to spice-up the specifications sheets using the "GDDR4" moniker. The company released the first Radeon HD 4670 accelerator that uses 512 MB of GDDR4 memory across a 128-bit memory bus. The new graphics card features a shorter than usual PCB. It uses a central aluminum-based GPU cooler, with memory chips being cooled by heatsinks. The GPU is clocked at 750 MHz, with the memory clocked at 2200 MHz, a 200 MHz increment over the reference specs. It provides outputs in the form of a D-Sub, a DVI and a HDMI connector. It is priced as low as 75€.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    this is a better alternative to the apollo 256 mb gddr4 model
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,019
    How much will the GDDR4 help it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    483 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    yeah but kinda pointless , why not just get a gddr3 1 with a 256 bit mb and if needed over clock the ram to 2200.
    the gddr4 wont help at all now if itmwas gddr4 3000 mhz now that would help . low quality gddr4 wont help at all , your better off sticking to hq gddr3. i may be wrong though.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Hey its a small boost in performance why not
     
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    a 256bit bus would cost too much to make and would be cheaper to use gddr4 and get the same performance.
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,019
    I didn't think GDDR4 gave the same effect as doubling the bus, I thought that was only GDDR5. I thought GDDR4 only allows for higher clock speeds.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Isn't GDDR5 only a faster GDDR4. I thought thats the reason they went with the lower bus on this card.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,019
    I believe GDDR5 is completely different from GDDR4 and GDDR3. GDDR4 is only faster GDDR3.

    Edit:

    You can see the memory bandwidth comparison between GDD5/4/3 here. The Bandwidth for GDDR4 should be much higher if it was like GDDR5. AFAIK, GDDR5 is the first QDR RAM to be used on graphics cards, which makes me wonder why it is still called GDDR, shouldn't it be GQDR?
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2009
    DrPepper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Very interesting :p Cheers for that I just assumed since it was called gddr5 it was just faster.
     
  11. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    483 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    the gddr4 in that is the lowest grade gddr4 its like ddr2 557 , and plaese someone dont correct me saying that its faster than ddr557, cause i know that, they should put in gddr 4 2600 or something.

    just seen this BFG GeForce GTX 285 OCX

    * Memory: 1024MB (1GB) GDDR3
    * Core Clock: 702MHz (vs. 648MHz standard)
    * Shader Clock: 1584MHz (vs. 1476MHz standard)
    * Memory Data Rate: 2664MHz (vs. 2484MHz standard)
    * Processor Cores: 240
    and thats gddr 3
     
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I don't think they were trying to get the best performance out of this card, probably trying to make it cheap as possible.
     
  13. Icewind31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    215 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    GDDR4 is runs less power/cooler, that might be another factor, theoretically GDDR4 should provide more bandwidth (given supposedly better clock speeds) however GDDR3 has matured so much (given GDDR4 short lifetime compared to GDDR3), it is able to match or exceed the yields GDDR4 are currently capable of. At the end of the day in costs perspective it's cheaper to use GDDR3, and I would want to assume that they're using GDDR4 to rid of excess inventory. Though if they did have a good batch of GDDR4 I would like to see that put into a 4830/4850 which would give them the nice memory speed boost they need at lower power requirements.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,381 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,451
    it is probably cheaper to produce too.
     
  15. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Big fan, small card, I like it no matter what mem :) Although it the ever too popular 2 pin fan.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,019
    I don't believe the GDDR4 is cheaper than GDDR3, I believe it is actually slightly more expensive.

    The addition of GDDR4 is most likely to allow slightly higher clocks vs. the GDDR3. The extra 100MHz(200 Effective) actually gives about a 10% boost in memory bandwidth. Something the mid-range cards with 128-bit memory buses definitely benefit from.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    is not the first one, there is one already on newegg from apollo altough only has 256mb
     
  18. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    The first part is true, but the increased latencies GDDR4 incurs will negate such a small clock speed increase. I think this has got to be a marketing led product (bigger numbers!), over one that will show any real performance increase.
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @newtekie

    I beleive not only does it allow for higher clock rates but also better latency.

    @roadie

    That really depends on your point of view. I mean, if you can get the card and get some really really good clocks from it, this may be the ultimate midrange card killer. I know it's spec'ed at 1100(2200 effective) but most GDDR4 can get up to 1300(2600 effective).
     
  20. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    483 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    the gddr3 on that 285 gtx was oc'ed to 3ghz thats crazy. but yeah it proly a bit better but on a 128 bit bus it will actuially turn out slower than gddr3 with a 256 bit bus
     
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Um, it wont even come close to the performance gains it would get from a 256bit bus.
    The GDDR4 memory will help fairly minimally, cost/per % may very well be higher than its worth also... Maybe not, kinda depends on the release cost, but honestly if they jack the cost anymore you may as well pickup a 4830...
     
  22. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,175 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    that's make 4670 more interesting
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page