1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Intros Radeon HD 4730 Accelerator

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,541 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sapphire today announced its Radeon HD 4730 accelerator. The new GPU surfaced along with Radeon HD 4790. Together these GPUs fill the Radeon HD 4700 series, bringing relief to the demand Radeon HD 4770 created, but is apparently unable to meet due to technical problems with the 40 nm manufacturing node of foundry partner TSMC.

    The Sapphire Radeon HD 4730 uses a PCB that is pin-compatible with Radeon HD 4870, as it is based on the same RV770 core with a different configuration. The company used a simple cooler with radially-projecting aluminum fins, which it has been using on inexpensive models of the Radeon HD 4850, and HD 4830. The memory is subjected to its air-flow, while the VRM area has a heatsink of its own. The GPU has 640 stream processors enabled, with a 128-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, holding 512 MB of memory. Sapphire cut down on the number of memory chips used, thanks to the narrower memory bus, while maintaining the memory bandwidth of similarly clocked 256-bit GDDR3. The core is clocked at 750 MHz, while the memory is at 900 MHz (3.6 GT/s effective). The outputs provided on the card are DVI-D, D-Sub, and HDMI. The card takes its power input from two 6-pin power connectors. The card uses a 3+2 phase power circuit. The Sapphire HD 4730 is expected to be priced at 80€.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    does it really need that many phases and that much power?
     
  3. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    No but its based on the 4870 pcb so the phases should be close to the 4870 standards...
    But i am so mad at amd!!!!!!!Whats up with them lately?
    All this new 47xx family and these cheap models only not to be able to xfire them with the 48xx family that would have been AWSOME and would have sold thousands of cards...
    I mean everyone would buy one more 4830 for their 4850 to pt a decent and cheap power increase on their pc but AMD thought that a new incompatibe lineup like 47xx would be wise before the 5xxx...GREAT IDEA!
    Only confuses people with all these different cards...IDIOTS...
     
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yea whats with the power connectors.
     
  5. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Why so ugly cooler? :banghead: :shadedshu
     
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    658 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Why does it need two PCI-E connectors?
     
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    wow, too many ati cards man
     
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,250 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    ATi have discovered that they get "more free advertising" (on websites) the more SKUs they can release. They will release them one week after the next so that there is always a new Press Release and a thousand website news postings keeping them up in google ranks.

    It's a whole new PR/marketing strategy based on google rankings and web-counts.

    SUCKS BIG TIME because for US the USER there is nothing new here. Just recycling yesterdays technology.
     
  9. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    356 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    It has two PCIe 6pin because it is in fact a Radeon 4830/4870 with 160 disabled SP's, and half the memory chips (this is how they made it 128bit GDDR5, from the original 256bit). They are overcomplicating their very good lineup so far with these new strange SKU's. That is a bad thing.

    So, is ATI going the same route nVidia was going not so long ago, rebranding old (48xx, 55nm) SKU's as new (47xx, 40nm) ones? At least nVidia's last rebranding wanted to simplify SKU's for the customers. The irony...
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  10. Rexter

    Rexter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Denmark
    So ATI is following Nvidia with the rebranding strategy. What happened to innovation?
     
  11. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Ah. Proof that no matter how good of a run you're on, you're going to stumble and screw something up eventually.

    Thanks, ATI. Really, thanks.

    Aren't those stats pretty much exactly what a 4770 are?
     
  12. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    658 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    No 40nm chip though...
     
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I am with you

    I don't even know why they are making new "configurations" when the 5000 series is due out in like 2 months.
     
  14. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Easy, both companies have cards out now that can basically destroy any game out atm.

    They are both biding their time, I'm sure that both companies are working on the next gen products (5k series, gtx 300), but why jump the gun and release them before the competitor?

    Might as well continue working on those next gen gpu's and release them at an opportune time (like, say, holiday time this year along with all the new games that come out around then).
     
  15. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    To prevent confusion, this is basicly a 4830 card with DDR5 on half the bandwith which equals the DDR3 on original bandwith ( that way they are able to sell the card at this great price ).

    This is a stop gap meassure, as the 4770 is in very high demand ( more than ATI expected and is able to produce ) and this card is released for the same price at 80 euros with performance being very close to it.

    As far as i know this is a exclusive card for Europe only being sold by Saphire and Powercolor, so I assume this is a temporary offer.

    80 Euros is a steal and if you dont care about the powerconsumption differences between this card and the 4770, you might end up with a card that has slightly more OC room.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Albatron proved that the HD4830 doesn't even need a single PCI-E 6-pin, 2 is just stupid for a card of this level.

    I think the only reason they went with two is because they are reusing old HD4870 PCBs to get rid of them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,541 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You are correct.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    So they use more power with a smaller die? and less memory bandwidth? and they are better?
     
  19. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    same die as 4830

    same bandwith cause 128bit DDR5 = 256bit DDR3

    its the same speed

    but cause of DDR5 its cheaper and slightly less power than a 4830
     
  20. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,541 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, you'll need to connect both the connectors, which is why they're there. It's the way power-distribution on HD 4870 is designed.
     
  22. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Well, that's just dumb.

    Though, I guess since this thing can't possibly suck down the power like a 4870 can, I suppose you could just use one of those 2 6-pin splitters for your power supply, and not have to worry about it being underpowered, right?
     
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,541 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Since it has the same clock-speeds as HD 4870, you could subtract the power draw of four GDDR5 memory chips (I don't know what that amounts to). This is essentially an HD 4870 with half its memory chips removed (four 1Gb chips sitting on a 128-bit interface).
     
  24. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,915 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    So it's just slightly better than a 4830, have to see to believe,I have a 4830 running par with most of the upper mid level 4850's and i will be very curious to see how far these can go,so i hope someone here gets one so i can see,if you do please contact me with your bencmarks
     
  25. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    They are milking the RV770 just like Nvidia with thier G92 chip
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page