1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SAPPHIRE Launches 1GB HD 3850

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    SAPPHIRE Technology, industry leader in graphics upgrades for the PC, has just launched a new version of its successful HD 3850 with enhanced memory configuration of 1GB.

    The new SAPPHIRE HD 3850 has 1GB of GDDR3 memory, running at 829MHz (1.66GHz effective). It has a core clock speed of 703MHz, higher than the standard model, which together with the large onboard memory delivers exciting levels of graphics performance especially in games or applications where large volumes of texture or data are involved.

    The SAPPHIRE HD 3850 series incorporates the latest ATI Avivo HD Technology for enhanced Video display and features a built in UVD (Unified Video decoder) for the hardware accelerated decoding of Blu-ray and HD DVD content for both VC-1 and H.264 codecs, reducing CPU loading to a minimum. The HDMI adaptor delivers true audio and video output on a single cable for direct connection of an HDMI ready display, making the SAPPHIRE HD 3850 an ideal solution for gamers and video enthusiasts.

    Featuring the latest CrossFireX technology, the SAPPHIRE HD 3850 has two high speed connectors on each card allowing 2, 3 or even 4 graphics cards to be daisy-chained together for enhanced performance when installed in a CrossFireX mainboard. As each card has two dual-link DVI connectors, this allows up to eight monitors to be used at the same time, or - with CrossFire enabled - two GPU’s (and up to four with future driver releases) to provide a more powerful rendering solution.

    All the new SAPPHIRE HD 3800 series combine a powerful unified shader architecture with support for Shader Model 4.0 and the forthcoming DirectX 10.1 connected via the latest PCI-Express Gen 2.0 interface. The architecture shares the 320 stream processors and 512-bit internal ring bus memory controller of the company’s other high end models together with multiple rendering units and a programmable tessellation unit to deliver outstanding graphics performance. Now manufactured in a new 55nm process technology, the GPU in the HD 3000 series delivers this performance with lower power consumption and at lower cost than previous generations. A new feature known as ATI PowerPlay actively reduces power consumption depending on loading.

    SAPPHIRE HD 3000 series graphics cards are Microsoft Windows Vista Premium certified and supported by the ATI Catalyst suite of software, ensuring customers have ongoing access to software updates for performance, stability and added features. Support for DirectX10.1 provides developers with access to enhanced programming techniques and new lighting effects.

    General Specifications

    [​IMG]

    Source: SAPPHIRE
     
    happita says thanks.
  2. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    wow! Is it really necessary to have 1GB of memory on it? If your running that high of rez you should probably have a faster GPU anyways, right?
     
  3. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    I agree, same as the 8800GT 1GB to a degree also.
     
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Yep. Card makers should only compliment cards that are fast enough to help utilize that much memory. For example the 8800 ultra, now that would be a decent card to test 1GB out on.
     
  5. Para_Franck

    Para_Franck

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I would have preferred to see a 512Mb GDDR4 version than a 1Gig GDDR3. 1Gig is overkill for this GPU, it will be bottlenecked somewhere and leave the user not being abble to take full advantage of all his Memory. In the end, I guess it's better to have to much memory and let the GPU reach it's full potential, than being limited by the memory. Once again, I feel that GDDR4 would have been the rigth way to go.

    Para_Franck
     
  6. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I'd rather too much memory than "just enough" although I think this would be better suited to the 3870X2, I know it "has" 1GB of RAM, but that's 2x512MB one for each core. 1GB per core would be pretty good for it especially at high res :)
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would trade a standard cool'd non-oc 3850 for my IceQ 3850 cause I can always OC it again :p
     
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I know the 8500GT is a complete waste of time but the 3850 may be able to utilise that amount of ram in some games... Of course that is just my opinion but I would like to see some benchies of this compared to a 512mb one.. especially at 1600 res...

    The 3850 still handles quite well with a lot of games at higher res'....

    Maybe w1zz can get his hands on one....
     
  9. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Marketing BS!

    If a 8800GT can't use 1GB of memory, do you think a slower card like the 3850 will be able to.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    8800GT can use 1GB in some games stock, and it can use it in even more games once OCed.

    Can't speak for the 3850 tho.
     
  11. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    you'd think they'd at least have done this with the 3870 before the 3850...
     
  12. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    agp version plz :D :D
     
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    thats why you overclock!
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    I saw your review on Newegg!:D
     
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,706 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    1GB HD3870 Please. I'm planning to buy a HD3870 soon :shadedshu
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That would be too much money imo, if it does offer a noticeable difference I might sell my IceQ and get it.
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,706 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I was planning for a while to go ATI. But if there's a HD3870 1GB for say $270, I'll take it. Else just for $310 I can get a 8800 GTS (G92) 512M
     
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I can get my 3850 to 3870 core speeds but not ram cause its not GDDR-4..
     
  19. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Did you even read what I said? When OCed, the 1GB of memory makes a larger difference. And besides, there are games that do make use of the 1GB, even before OCing. Just look at the PT Boats demo to see what difference it's capable of.

    Not only that, that review has the worst numbers I've seen out of a 1GB GT.

    Now, is the 1GB GT worth the extra money? Depends. If you can find a G92 GTS for about the same price, then probably not. But if you find one significantly cheaper than a GTS, or for only a small premium over a 512MB GT, then it is a good value.
     
  21. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    the 1Gb memory will be ok to use ... in 2-4 years :D

    when the 1gb variant will have more speed and bandwidth that standard version with 512mb.

    I really want to see a test with 256mb, 512mb and 1GB memory all cards with same GPU. I also believe that from the design of the 8800GT gpu, was the maximum useful memory set to 512mb.

    Also I don't know one program/benchmark that can verify that all video memory can be use by gpu and also to see if in gaming the gpu really us e or load any data/texture in memory space from 512mb to 1gb. I like to know if the driver are designed to take an advantage of the memory.

    A real test I believe that will be with the game stalker. So if any one have a 1GB card and 512mb card please post a score.
     
  22. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    lol not possible unless you add 4 more ram modeules on the card, a 384bit bus could do 1.5 though :D
     
  23. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Not exactly the same cards but an indication nonetheless between 512MB and 256MB.
    http://www.nvnews.net/reviews/xfx_geforce_8800gt_256mb/index.shtml
     
  24. Eliranos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They know we dont really need 1 gb but they are getting rid of the GDDR3 stocks cause of the move to GDDR4 soon on all cards and later on the GDDR5
     
  25. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Eh? I'm just talking about if they redesign the 8800 ultra so it can fit the extra 256 memory then it would make good use of the 1GB memory.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page