1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Pure Innovation HDMI AMD RS690

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,005 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    1500ht link, that's when i start to get instability on my foxconn, have you tried lowering it to get more fsb?
    still 300 is a great achievment :)
     
  3. dmce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for this folks. Especially the 1080p bit. Need to give the review a proper read seeing as the HD bit looks like it might be an option.

    Does the sound chip matter if the sound is going via HDMI or digital out?
     
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    just a little tougt on the "1080p Playback" segment
    what decoder did you use?

    and
    3800 singelcore isnt that good ^^, X2 3800+ is right in the alley :D
    you might want to test with CoreAVC & ffdshow both have smp support :cool:
    and there is more trailers to check, apple.com/trailers has many 1080p trailers :) and they are in h264 codec to
    use QuickTime Altenative to download them :cool:

    if the sound goes thru hdmi it will come out of the tv's speakers, if it goes out spdif you can connect that to a spdif enabled surround ampifier :)
    and this looks like the Realtek ATI HDMI Device driver is used for this bit, lol they released the hdmi driver awhile before the amd's chipset, so it was no suprise to me that the amd chipset had hdmi :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2007
  5. dmce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My question was worded poorly. If passing sound via digital out (Spdif bracket) does the chipset for sound matter? Providing its bit perfect it shouldnt? Im not sure if this still applies, but do we still have both DD and DTS to consider? Are both supported.

    Similarly, if using HDMI to AV box or tv, does the audio chipset matter? I appreciate where the sound goes but my question relates to audio quality.
     
  6. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Looks Promising:D
    I guess this is going to be my AM2 board.:p
     
  7. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    huh?, it will just pass thru digitaly the signal from file on a pc to ampifier when using the spdif/hdmi thingy
    and the Dolby Digital Live option will encode any format from windows to dolby digital so you ampifier see it as a dolby digital signal
    the audio quality is same as orginal as far i know when sending via spdif digital, its not done analogy its done digitaly right from the source
    DVD > Dolby Digital > DVD playback software > spdif > realtek HD soundchip (spdif) > spdif out or hdmi out
    this is done digitaly and in 01010100101 form so it has no quality degrading :)
     
  8. dmce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thats what i was asking. Any and all spdif outputs are bit perfect then? I thought this was not the case due to the windows OS and kmixer resampling. So i was wondering about this audio chipset. Will do a bit of hunting around.

    From what i can tell ALC882D copes with bit-perfect output.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2007
  9. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I only just saw this board, nice review...as usual W1zz! Who sells them in the UK tho?!
     
  10. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    BUMP to try and find out where I can get one in the UK...
     
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nice Article W1zzard.

    Quick question. I can watch 1080i broadcasts thru my PC with the HD tuner on my monitor with AGP X1600 PRO and X2 3800 at half the speed (because of cool 'n' quiet) (running @1300 Mhz from 2600Mhz) with out any slutter or lag. Is this any different than watching 1080i or p recorded movie? I was hoping to use a single core S754 3400 overclocked to 2.67 ghz and the X1600 pro with another HD tuner on my HTPC. If this is the case I might have to re-think about doing this.
     
  12. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    STILL trying to locate one in the UK! Ebuyer have the baby brother of this board but not this one. Sapphire "support" forums are as useful as a chocolate teapot as well, the idiots...
     
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
  14. dmce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page