1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire radeon hd 5450 crashing

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by rajeshravindranc, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    for the past one week i have been trying to resolve this issue...but dont know what went wrong..
    my monitor just shows a red screen and then goes black and just blinks the signal light....even if we restart the system,the blinking LED with
    black screen continues...then i have to remove pc from power ,wait for 5 minutes then everything goes fine..
    whats interesting is that even if the computer is at idle this happens .I checked the gpu aswell as cpu temperatures and they are at 52 and 45..
    if i switch to integrated graphics everthing goes fine..
    i updated my CC to latest and no change..
    I am pretty sure that my psu can handle the card.
    Pls help:(
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    test the hd 5450 in another system; if same red screen RMA the card

    Upload screen shot if possible of RSOD

    Look here at examples

    Note: go here and fill in information

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
    rajeshravindranc says thanks.
  3. pr0fessor

    pr0fessor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Suisse
    Recently I installed a 4550 at Windows 7 and the font was blurred. I removed the driver and the font ok. I hadn't the time for testing several previous drivers, but you can do that. Test your pc without any driver and then test it with some older ones. It might be a driverproblem.
     
  4. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks for the reply..
    from the link you have given i think this is my problem..
    http://www.playtool.com/pages/artifacts/graphicscardmemory3.gif
    but once the artifact is there computer turns black screen..
    bad vram..is there any way to fix it? :-?
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,945 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    looks like memory fault, but if its in warranty, rma it
     
    rajeshravindranc says thanks.
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,945 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    could from your monitor, check your monitor setting.
    what about if you run auto setting and check your refresh rate
     
  7. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    619 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    +1 looks RAM'ish. Maybe a down clock? see if that help's?

    I'd PERSONALLY remove the card, clean it, Re-Seat the heat sink with fresh TIM, and go from there, can't hurt to rule out what YOU yourself can fix, IF it saves You from the RMA process.
     
    rajeshravindranc says thanks.
  8. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Waranty is over..:(
     
  9. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i have done that already..!!still no change....
    but i changed something in bios and now its not coming .Dont know wheather it will come later..
     
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,945 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    what? bios? its hardware failure
    bios wont help since the hardware not works well
     
    rajeshravindranc says thanks.
  11. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Dont know what happend now its not coming..the artifacts are not coming often. randomly they come..
    i have disabled XD technology and PCI compliance test pattern...i have been working for abot 3hours now and no changes..:)
     
  12. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    It is not recommended to disable XD technology in motherboard bios as it may leave the system open to buffer overflow attacks [set this to enabled]

    Note: XD tech only effects intel; the AMD chip uses a different NX tech

    nb: "bad vram..is there any way to fix it? :-?" no, it will continue to degrade

    atb

    Law-II
     
  13. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    what about PCI compliance test pattern?
     
  14. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    I would not worry about this to much; should be fine to leave it as is; [as far as I am aware] it was designed to oporate with an Oscilloscope to diagnose faults

    atb

    Law-II
     
    rajeshravindranc says thanks.
  15. rajeshravindranc

    rajeshravindranc

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks..
     
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page