1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 1GB sneak peak!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by OBR, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. OBR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Czechia
    [​IMG]

    Box

    [​IMG]

    No vapor-chamber cooler!

    [​IMG]

    Cheapo PCB

    [​IMG]


    No Dual BIOS, no switch

    [​IMG]

    HD 6800 PCB!

    [​IMG]

    Elpida MEMs!

    [​IMG]

    Chill voltage controller!

    [​IMG]

    Ti mofets!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  2. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    This one sucks! I'm happy that I already bought HD6950 (reference)!
     
  3. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I disagree.... I actually was thinking when they first released.... Why 2Gb's Its really not needed for the majority of us. Even at 1920x1080 we don't need that much. As far as the newer PCB.... I don't like it. That part does look cheaper. But this does open up an interesting upgrade option to those with a 6870/6850 and doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for an extra gb of memory that we don't need.

    I will wait to see benches to make up my mind for sure.
     
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,234 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    One thing that i know is that Sapphire's blue pcb version of the HD5850 is FAR SUPIRIOR then the reference design
    in both overclocking and cooling abilities
     
  5. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  6. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Good finding DarkOCean. I am curious which memory chips are better, Elpide or Hynix?
     
  7. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  8. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Outrageously is a word :cool:

    Seems to me that AMD priced the 1GB 6950 just right. Will be interesting to see how it stacks up against the 560 /w 11.1 Cats.
     
  9. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Oh, I see. I merely misspelled it then. Outrageously it is! :toast:
     
  10. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    753 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    The HD6950 actually hits the GTX560 Ti stock very very hard. Winning almost everywhere including power consumption.
     
  11. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    That's why I don't quite understand the euphoria reviewers currently are displaying. Sure, the 560 is a well designed answer to the 6950 1GB, but that's about it.
     
  12. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    What's the price difference between the 6950 2GB, 6950 1gb and 6870 going to be? If 6950 2GB is $300, and 6870 is $250 that doesn't leave a lot of room for pricing this new card. If it's only a few dollars more than a 6870, then AMD will be destroying sales of that card and if the 2gb card is only a few dollars more than the 1gb one then everyone will buy that one instead. Even if AMD does a price drop now it's going to be hard to see how this new card is going to establish a niche for itself.

    So let's assume they split the difference and price it at $275 but the performance is similar to the 2gb model, then it will be hurting sales of the 2gb card because everyone will buy the cheaper one, and if it vastly outperforms 6870 for only $25 more then it will steal sales from that card, too. Whether you look at it from a price perspective or a performance perspective, this new card is going to hurt sales of the existing ones.

    I also don't understand why Sapphire is going with a non-reference cooler but NOT the Vapor-X/Toxic one. If they thought the 6870 got hot enough for external exhaust, what makes them think this is going to run any cooler?
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2011
  13. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  14. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
  15. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    I like rebates but they are time consuming and a hassle for some. Won't be long before there are rebate promos on the 1GB's too.
     
  16. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    Does the 1GB version of HD6950 have ability to unlock shaders?
     
  17. OBR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Czechia
    unlocking is not possible, new 6950s with 6870 PCB are not unlockable ... HIS, MSI, Sapphire ...
     
  18. sa seba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    The engineering samples have the bios switch...
     
  19. SvB4EvA

    SvB4EvA New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    110 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    NYC
    For 10-20 bucks, why not have the extra gig of RAM? The prices dont make much sense me to at all. Also, no dual BIOS? :(
     
  20. s7uidz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Length of 6950 1gb models?

    I have a mini-atx case and have about 9.5" for a video card.. my Radeon 4850 fits perfectly. I noticed the 6950 2gb models are 10.5" which means all new case and transplanting everything. is the 1gb model smaller dimensions? I've noticed the 6850 use a smaller PCB. also the 560ti is around 9" stock...

    anyone know the length of this card?


    Thanks
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,134 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    US
    Hynix, or even some Samsung would of been nice..


    But anyways that card looks horrible lol. Not as i am a Sapphire fan anyways.
     
  22. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,222 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350

    I would agree with you in the sense that the 6950 is probably not considered the card for people who play at 2560 resolution.
    But for those who do try it, that 2GB would still make a noticeable difference.

    Additionally, two 6950 in Crossfire, is a hot setup at the moment, especially with the shader unlock option.


    They should have just released a 6950 with 1gb and called it something OTHER than 6950. Sure, us nerds would have figured out it's a gimped 6950, but for consumers it would have kept thing simple.

    6940(??)> 6950> 6970

    Second thought: Maybe they're going to obsolete the 6950 2GB and for multiple reasons try to bridge the gap between itself and the 6970 (current flagship). They dump the 2GB model, lower production costs with the 1GB version, and most consumers are none the wiser.
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Does these cards allow voltage control?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
    They have Chill voltage regulator so they suppose to have voltage control.
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,740 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,216
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This looks like a nice card to flash and unlock shaders?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page