1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Readies HD 5570 Xtend TV Graphics Card with TV Tuner

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,958 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sapphire is keeping the All-in-Wonder series alive to an extant with its latest graphics card suited for home PCs and HTPCs, the Sapphire HD 5570 Xtend TV. The card is a full-height DirectX 11 compliant Radeon HD 5570 which integrates a standard-definition TV tuner. The tuner can scan for, and store channels, you can also program the software to record them at a set time. As a graphics card, it packs 320 stream processors and 512 MB/1 GB of GDDR3 memory over a 128-bit memory interface.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. shiny_red_cobra

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Who uses standard definition anymore? Also, I thought ATI sold their TV tuner division a couple years back. Are they licensing it now or what?
     
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Wow what a crock, should have been at least a 5770 5570 is crap for gaming, and a SD tv tuner? wtf no twin digital tuners? who would buy this?
     
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Must be a typo for the tuner, it has to be digital HD, as analog SD broadcast no longer exist in the US or majority of Europe.
     
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    AIW is back:D
     
  6. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    thats what I was thinkin, I had the X1950 AIW and could never get it to work right lol
     
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It's digital SD, it mentions analogue no where...
     
  8. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    "cof" we here use analogue SD. It will be standard till 2015 here "cof"
     
  9. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    it doesnt say analogue tuner ,its says standard definition tuner so it is digital just not high def which is abit of a shame.
     
  10. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    This brings back memory's of my old 3dfx voodoo 3500-TV :laugh:
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,180 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    04578
    well i for one still use standard def cable because im not paying a $30 markup per month for HD when half the time its just 720p and still looks like shit. So something like this would be perfect for a HTPC at least for me.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  12. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    That's what I'm thinking, it could replace our freeview boxes.
     
  13. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,617 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Cable in my area use to be the same way 720P and 1080i both looked like shit. But over the past year it has seriously improved, its easily comparable or better looking than Directv. I can't say anything about IPTV but they are bring it to my area, I would imagine it would look incredible
     
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    This would be absolutely pointless in my area as well as most of the US as most cable companies are now making you use a cable box to get anything more than local channels...I think it's also pointless for an HTPC with Hulu and Netflix plus all the Networks that already air their shows on the web...
     
  15. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    935 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Interesting, and as I can only get SD cable... which still looks like shit, I wouldn't bother, but still, kudos to Sapphire for trying something different and it could be a good card for an HTPC. Hopefully they'll come up with a version with a better tuner in the future.
     
  16. TAViX Guest

    This card is perfect if you have a cheap PC, used for anything else except gaming or 3D/2D design. :ohwell:
     
  17. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
  18. Moin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks. I like it. Where do they sell it?

    Thanks. I like it. Where do they sell it? Their web didn't say it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page