1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Readies Radeon HD 7970 Cards with 1335 MHz Core Clock, 6 GB Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It looks like AMD's claims of HD 7970's extreme overclocking capabilities weren't the usual PR hoopla. A confidential company document revealing the non-reference models Sapphire has in the works, got leaked to the web, and it is a bundle of surprises. To begin with, Sapphire plans no less than six non-reference Radeon HD 7970 models apart from the vanilla AMD reference design card. Among these, the top-of-the-line cards are codenamed "Atomic RX" and "Atomic WC". One can guess that the "RX" is an air-cooled card, and the "WC" a water-cooled one. It packs blistering clock speeds of 1335 MHz core, with 5735 MHz (1433 MHz actual) memory.

    The other card that caught our eyes is codenamed "FLEX 6G". The Flex variant typically features a flexible display output configuration. This card is said to have six mini-DP connectors. While this card sticks to AMD reference clock speeds, it packs a whopping 6144 MB of video memory, all wired to a single GPU. While 4 Gbit GDDR5 chips don't exist, we expect Sapphire to be using 24 * 2 Gbit chips on this card, with twelve sets of two chips sharing 32 bit paths. Then there are other milder factory overclocked cards apart from the Atomic; there's Toxic 3G, and VaporX 3G, both packing impressive out of the box clock speeds.

    [​IMG]

    Source: ChipHell
     
    CrAsHnBuRnXp, nt300, Super XP and 8 others say thanks.
  2. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Two of these in crossfire... Over kill for my needs? Yes, but very much do want. :eek:
     
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That's a phenomenal over clock for a retail card!
     
  4. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    181 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    im wondering how these will perform :D
     
  5. Pandora's Box

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    6GB of memory on one card, wow...
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I wonder how far these things can be pushed by advance over clockers ....
     
  7. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    :eek: Holy crap that's fast, the 1335 MHZ core speed should put it well past the 6990 and 590 at least at high res going by the overclock results i have seen.

    Only moments ago i was mentioning wanting 1.1 GHZ core on a 7970 but i will happily pay for a guaranteed 1335 MHz core.

    i expect to see 2 GHz+ otherwise i shall be unimpressed by them and their boiling gasses :laugh:
     
  8. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,220 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    1335Mhz core clock?
    how... what? wh... wh... how?! jesus fu**ing christ, seriously?
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I think those of us with crazy high end air cooling or decent air cooling could for for a full 50% over clock lol
     
  10. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,374 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hmm, water cooled they say.... Tell me more....
     
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Meh just comes with a block, cheaper to buy a regular one and buy the block yourself :toast:


    The air cooled one does 1335 mhz as well apparently :laugh:
     
  12. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,556 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    That would blow past just pretty much everything by a good margin.
     
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    2Mhz more on the core and it will make a leet card.
     
    SlayerJC says thanks.
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You know someone will do it.

    7970 l33t edition! for all your H4X0R needs!
     
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    i was about to say 2mhz as well for 1337 awesome but ill just do it myself haha
     
    ViperXTR says thanks.
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    If we look at the data Available

    at 1920x1200

    with 1335mhz core that is a 31% overclock taking W1zzards overclock results and extrapolating the data that would be a 29% performance boost

    essentially 15% oc w1zz saw a 14% performance bump double those numbers = 31% 925 / 1335 = .69 x 100 = 31% so if 15% oc is 14% performance 30% would be 28 and 31 = 29%

    this should result in around a 5-6% performance boost OVER the HD 6990 / GTX 590

    It also results in the HD 7970 being a comfortable 40% faster then a GTX 580

    rough estimation
    [​IMG]
     
    nt300, Valdez, H82LUZ73 and 1 other person say thanks.
  17. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    This is what the 7970 was supposed to be
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    holy schmidt 1335mhz is a whopping core clock and I like their particular choice too :pimp:

    this is going to be, one hell of a card. I'll have two please tooth fairy.
     
  19. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    When pantherx12 said "advance over clockers" my mind went straight to in general any 7970 hard volt modded and cooled by liquid nitrogen thus why i will not be impressed by anything but a crazy speed and the comment about the boiling gasses.
     
    blanarahul says thanks.
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    At the very least someone finally put a real overclock on their "overclock edition" cards.
    After all those whooping 10Mhz OC editions. :laugh:
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  21. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    The really high clock speed totally distracted me from that fact, these are some impressive overclocks, has any product ever came with such an increase between reference and card vendor clocks? or does it just seam much higher due to starting near 1ghz?

    Either way has any GPU ever came with a 1.3ghz core?
     
  22. blanarahul

    blanarahul

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Sorry mate! Didn't see that!
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  23. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    6GB...may take years for a game to finally be able to fill all that.
     
  24. PremoGS

    PremoGS New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Maybe, maybe not. 6*27 2560x1440 monitors, BF3, everything maxed out and I think we're gonna go over 3GB easily.
     
  25. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    HalfAHertz says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page