1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire Readying HD 4870 With 2 GB Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,737 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,201
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ATI Radeon specialist Sapphire is preparing a new SKU based on its recently unveiled cooler design based on its Vapor-Chamber technology. In an attempt to step up performance and spicing up specifications sheets, the company plans to load 2 GB of GDDR5 memory on an HD 4870 accelerator. To hold that much memory, GDDR5 chips are populated on both sides of the PCB. The chips on the back of the card are cooled by a heatsink, while the ones in the front are subjected to the fan's air-flow. The card uses reference AMD clock speeds of 750/900 MHz (core/memory). DVI, D-Sub and DisplayPort make for the card's connectivity. It is expected to be priced at 258 EUR.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Dats tight!

    I shall get one.:)
     
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Bit of a gimmick but, yeah two (or even four of these) would set you up for life eh?
     
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Interesting. I'm certainly interested in the cooler. I must say I'm impressed by my current Sapphire 4870 (after a dreadful 3870). However 2GB, I don't know, seems a bit much IMO.
     
  5. Fleck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    308 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    FL
    Fuckin richies :(
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    :D

    Hopefully it'll drive the prices down even further on the 1GB 4870.
     
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    would look better on a black or red pcb IMO. Still, sounds like it could be quite the beast.
     
  8. TreadR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It's a shame that most of Sapphire's cards are plagued by incompatibilities.
    And yeah... on a red PCB + red DVI connectors (like XFX) would've looked much better.
     
  9. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Most is a bit harsh
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If i was, i wouldnt have the video card i have in my system right now. Also i got the QX6700 for free. I havne't had a job for a while now.:(
     
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Well i find €250+ to expensive for that card.
    After AMD just announced to drop prices on the HD4850/4870 series paying €100 extra for 1Gb memory doesn't sound that cheap to me.
    They already lowered prices at some web shops so expect a nice price drop for the HD4870 512/1Gb soon.
     
  12. Methious New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't see much advantage unless your gaming uber resolutions.
     
  13. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Would it even matter then? Im @ 2048x1152 and I doubt it would give me an advantage. But now that CS4 can use videocards... I can see that being a valuable asset.
     
  14. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Very much so. But in that case, My AMD 3400+ with 1g ram doesn't have a problem running CS3 with 5-6 10.1mp images open, and several windows running in the background, so would it really help?
    On the flip side, I would love to see 3 of these crossfired on 1920x1200.
     
  15. IcrushitI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Canada
    For us older guys and gals we all know about the numbers game, but the new people on the block don't, so entry level people will go GA GA over the numbers and buy.
     
  16. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    How about compositions for print that are over 32in by 24in @ 600+ Dpi? Filters get angry for me at that point. I am a design tech major though, most people have no need for print quality work at that scale. I think there will be no difference between the 2gb and 1gb versions. But thats just going from the initial release of every card before that has been strapped with more memory.

    I agree
     
  17. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    That is a lot of memory for me to feast on.
     
  18. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    I can't see anyone buying this with the HD4890 coming out soon.

    Put 2GB GDDR5 on a HD4890 with this updated "Vapor Chamber" cooler, and you'd have a decent seller, that sticks out from the crowd.

    As it is, this souped up HD4870 is just too late to the GPU party. :/
     
  19. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    I like the VR heatsink.No doupt it will clock well with extra volts and that think cooling the mosfets and vr s...
    Its really huge!!!
     
  20. IcrushitI New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Canada
    Not every brick and morter carry every brand and sku. The 4870 are becoming the midrange and they will sell.
     
  21. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Is there any point of this? I mean with the performance of the 4870, 2GB will bottleneck it?
     
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,355 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,562
    that pictured board is not the 2 gb 4870. its just a random 4870 sapphire had at their cebit booth.

    2 gb doesn't make any sense and sapphire knows this, they will have small quantities to sell them to the e-penis people
     
    btarunr, technicks and spearman914 say thanks.
  23. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,702 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    e-penis! Thats the best way to describe it! :toast:
     
  24. DeathTyrant

    DeathTyrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is this the case for any single GPU out right now (4870 and 285) W1zzard? Or does this also apply to the X2 cards or to SLI/Xfire (two or three 4870s or 285s) - at high resolutions and AA of course - ?
    If these 2GB cards could make a difference, it would perhaps push me to dust off my TripleHead2Go setup (almost as many megapixels as 2560x1600).

    It's kind of disappointing to hear that they might be pointless. :(
     
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,355 (3.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,562
    maybe crysis 2560x1600 with all the eye candy .. then you have 20 fps instead of 16 fps.

    i put in a request to nvidia to check if there are any [actual existing] cuda apps out there that benefit from 2 gb over 1 gb.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page