1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SAPPHIRE Solves Eyefinity Issue with Active DisplayPort Adapter

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,354 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,367
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'm trying to show why the two need separate, but compatible standards. Monitors are intended for a viewing distance of less than 2 feet where TVs are designed for 6+ feet. In order to get a good picture at less than two feet away, you need a really high resolution (dpi). Conversly, the farther away you get from the display, the lower the dpi necessary to make it look exactly the same to the eye. More DPI means more bandwidth and more bandwidth means more robust cables. I think it is a bad idea to attempt to merge the two. I mean, HDMI is just now getting market acceptance when DVI has been around a long time.

    HDMI is good to go in the entertainment industry but it is time for the computer industry to move on. HDMI is old for that segment of the market.
    Scrizz and lemonadesoda say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    your argument holds flawed logic.

    since keyboards and mice dont need the bandwidth of USB and are designed for different things than flash drives, they should go back to PS/2 connectors - its been around longer.


    Fair enough that you have your own opinion (dont care about HDMI) but your logic contradicts precendents - people prefer one unifying standard even if it does limit them slightly. its better than everyone having their own incompatible standards.
  3. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Are you honestly surprised? What did you expect?

    [​IMG]
    Scrizz says thanks.
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,853 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    i agree with GT90Concept
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,354 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,367
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You know how a keyboard works, right? It has a series of interrupts and each key is assigned to a specific interrupt group. PS/2 is practically the same as USB in terms of wiring. If PS/2 were replaced with a new cable which supports one interrupt per key, there would never be a problem with interrupt collisions again. Instead of improving the keyboard connector, we threw it into a trash bin with all the other flawed connection standards.

    Mice don't need as many interrupts as keyboards so more suitable connector than USB would be difficult to come by--unless something revolutionary happened.


    The advantage of PS/2 mice and keyboard is that, if they plug in, you can be guaranteed they work so long as they aren't defective.


    Standards = compatibility.


    I'm not surprised, no. It should be illegal to develop such standards (business, not consumer interest) internationally.


    Edit: The USB hub often isn't initialized soon enough. For example, my DFI LP X58 motherboard doesn't initialize the USB hub until an OS is loading. This means that, with an USB keyboard, the BIOS are not accessible. I have to plug in a PS/2 keyboard (which is initialized before POST begins) in order to access the BIOS. Yet another reason why keyboards need their own dedicated cable, connectors, and protocols.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
    Scrizz says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    PS/2 can do full n-key rollover. USB cannot.
  7. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    thanx for info :toast:
  8. Munchy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Excellent i have found people that actually know what they are on about,

    I have been through this saga on several forums now and wondered if anyone can kick me in the right direction,

    i have HD5870

    3 monitors all working

    2 x dvi and 1 passive display port adapter to dvi

    now i can only use 2 @ a time so is this really because i need the expensive adapter?

    Please do note i do not want extended desktop i only want monitor one and monitor two in extended mode and monitor three mirroring monitor 2

    i figured as it is actually working on all three monitors (only 2 at a time) there must be a way to use 3 at the same time.

    lol i know my answer but i just need someone to shout it at me so i believe them. :banghead:

    i feel a little hard done by shelling out 220 on the card and then another 80 is for the adapter.

    ps has anyone seen the active converters for sale anywhere?

    Edit,

    new train of thought?

    Seeing as the passive dp to dvi is working is it possible that they wont all duplicate due to the third monitor being a different size?
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  9. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    Correct you need active adapter for 3rd monitor http://www.amd.com/us/Documents/ATI_Eyefinity_Technology_Brief.pdf download pdf and read 7th and 8th pages


    http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16792&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=570
    Read directly from Dave Bauman ( product manager of AMD/ATI )

    Munchy i wish you had been written where are you living ,you can find DELL/blizzlink adapters at US and accell and sapphire adapters at Europe ,i gave a link to accell adapter at first page from a netherland company (accell = blizzlink ,retail brand according to info i found )
    http://www.amd-news.com/assets/files/amd-cn/Eyefinity_SetupGuide_v1_AMD.pdf setup guide
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    and all three monitors must be the same resolution, thats another requirement
  11. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn

    and 1920x1080 max correct? Or can all 3 be run @ say 2048x1152.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    i didnt see a max res, but that doesnt mean there isnt one
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,354 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,367
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The safest max res would probably be 1920x1200 @ 60 Hz (single-link DVI). It might be able to go to dual-link DVI res (2560×1600 @ 60 Hz) but don't count on it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    of course it is possible , ati demoed eyefinity on 2560* 1600 (3 monitor = 7680* 1600 and 6 monitor = 7680 *3200 config ) there are alot reviews with 2560*1600.
    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3635
  15. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Sweet, im glad to hear it. Does anyone know if you can still rotate monitors when using eyefinity? I have not seen anything about that either.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    since they all need the same resolution, they'd all have to have the same orientation
  17. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Yes but they can all be rotated 90 degrees, which you can imagine results in a completely different aspect ratio. The Triple Head 2 Go could do this, thats the only reason I ask.
  18. nugzo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Before eyefinity can be used for gaming, xfire must be supported. No way 1 graphics card can game great at 7860*1600. you almost need xfire/SLI even for 2560x1600.
  19. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    That support came with the 9.12 Hotfix drivers.

    Haven't seen anyone here post their experience, but over at WidescreenGamingForum and HardOCP some people have posted that it is working. No benches yet.
  20. nugzo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If that's the case, thats awesome. I wonder if it's possible to use the DVI or HDMI on the
    2nd or 3rd video card? or is it not physically possible..
  21. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Rotating monitor support?
  22. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
  23. bryantalpinerunner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please Help!! Almost Got It!!!

    PLEASE HELP!!! I bought the EFX version of ATIs 5670 Card. As you know it had DVI HDMI and Displayport, so without the active adapter i couldnt have all 3 monitors simotaeously. I found Saphires version of the same 5670 card ony difference is it had DVI HDMI and VGA! i thought i found a loophole and wouldnt need the active adapter. After installing the card and the driver it came with, im still have the same issue requiring me to disable one of my monitors to use the 3rd one! NOW IM REALLY UPSET! If anyone has any solution or explanation for this i would really appretiate it!! Thanks in advance - Bryant
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,014 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    the models with VGA dont support eyefinity - only two screens will work.
    bryantalpinerunner says thanks.
  25. bryantalpinerunner New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info i knew it was too good to be true. Could anyone suggest the cheapest place to get the active display port adapter thats been confirmed to work?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page