1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire X1950Pro Paranoia

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mrsemi, Jun 21, 2007.

1. mrsemi

Thanks Received:
    I bought a chip a while back to update my poor old 754 mobo as well as an x800gto.

With my new gear, an arctic cooler pro & vf900 I was armed to take my first shot at overclocking. Problem was my very first install on the zalman to the x800gto agp seemed to fry my card.

Upon loading I got artifacts and all I did was put the vf900 on. So I order another one & slap the vf900 on without thinking to test it without the aftermarket fan first.

This card is doa as well, so I'm wondering if I killed these or if they were just bound for video card heaven.

On to my paranoia. I'm still a major noob with installs. I got arctic silver 5 from newegg and was wondering if that's the wrong type for the video card. I thought maybe since it was 99.9% silver compound it was causing some unwanted connections. Can that happen?

Now my x1950Pro arrives today. This vf900 zalman (the one that possibly slayed my x800gto's) will fit on the x1950Pro after reading the reviews on the Sapphire

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16814102061

I realize maybe I should have done some research before buying. I've got only a 450 w psu and no idea what the 12 v rail is so I've gotta dig into that.

So pretty much the question here is will arctic silver 5 work for the chip if I brave the upgrade. If yes, can any of you think how a zalman vf900 may have slain my two x800gto agp's?

I've not gamed in 6 days now waiting for parts I await your wisdom gods of the VPU boards.:respect:
  2. tkpenalty New Member

Thanks Received:
    Um just install it? :S...

It was already dead in the first place so yeah just RMA.
  3. Ketxxx

Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

Thanks Received: