1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sapphire X800GT COMPLETE NEWB, Need LaserMod help, Voltage Solder, and Card Identity

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by devilspy, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. devilspy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, I just received this card today off ebay and popped it into my cpu. (deided to make my own thread.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Sapphire-RADEON...9913209QQihZ004QQcategoryZ80184QQcmdZViewItem

    Display adapter RADEON X800 GT (0x554B)
    Core Name R423
    SubVendor Sapphire (P.C. Partner) (174B)
    SubDevice 0600
    BUS 5
    Device 0
    Function 0
    Base Address 0 D000000C
    Base Address 1 00000000
    Base Address 2 FD7F0004
    Base Address 3 00000000

    Bus Type PCI Express
    Hardware Information ASIC (Software) Method
    Family 56
    Emulated Revision 2
    Gfx Engine ID 3
    VRam Bit Width 256
    Installed memory 256

    Hardware Information Direct hardware access
    Installed memory 256 Mb
    Memory Type GDDR3
    Memory Width 256 bit
    Active Rendering Pipelines 8

    ______________________________
    Radeon Registers
    RADEON_BIOS_0_SCRATCH 02000002
    RADEON_BIOS_1_SCRATCH 0500C000
    RADEON_X_MPLL_REF_FB_DIV 00464904
    RADEON_XCLK_CNTL 00807FFA
    RADEON_MCLK_CNTL 00031212
    GB_TILE_CONFIG 00010017
    MC_TIMING_CNTL 69668334
    MC_SDRAM_MODE_REG 10430000
    ______________________________
    Video BIOS Information
    Version 009.010.001.015
    Part Number 474r423.pcp
    Date 2005/06/28 11:08
    Vram Type DDR3
    ____________________
    Displays supported by adapter
    0 (1) Monitor (CRT1)
    1 (2) Second Monitor (CRT2)
    2 (4) Component Video Output
    3 (8) TV
    4 (16) Digital Flat Panel


    Its 8 pipelines, attached pics below. I want to get to 12 at the very least ,16 is what I'm aiming at. The card has a stock cooler for now, video goes blank from heat when I try to oc too high...due to temp going to over 65C(or maybe voltage draw, its only running on a true 300w power-supply)..i had no artifacts but it shuts off, memory highest was 614mhz w/out artifacts..and gpu got to 525 before heat-up..but stable at 510 or below .

    Soldering is not a problem for me, I do it all the time, good at following diagrams, but not great at figuring out what does what. Voltage mod , laser cut pipe-unlocking, heard it all mentioned, but hard to find specific guides..i think that vmod guide is aimed at my exact card? Couldn't find the link to the laser mod re-solder(where r the points?) for 16 or 12, and can I use thin led free solder with a 15w fine tip point?, also if anyone could point me to the right Bios for my card would be appreciated.

    oh yeah the:
    Memory Chips
    Samsung 531
    K4J553230FGC20

    AWE451PZA 3 CHIPS
    AWE547GAA 5 CHIPS
    AWE485GAA 1 CHIP

    CHIP/CORE ?
    ATI RADEON X800GT
    215RBMAGA12F
    GF9177.1
    0531AA
    TAIWAN

    PART # PRINTED ON (RED COLORED)PCB 109-A47401-10
    Noticed a dip switch on the back anyone know whats that for?
    Hope this is enough data.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PtokaXX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden,skåne
    your core is R423
     
  3. devilspy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    been reading through the 100s of pages of posts, looks like I might be out of luck to get 16pipes no matter what amounts of solderign I do..right?

    So how do I at least get 12?
    Found that alot of ppl are praising Dolfs iso, anyone have that?

    I attached my bios dump for more reference. I plan on putting a zalman cooler with the two huge plates, once I find the core adapter.

    Oh my email is atimod@gmail.com for applicable bios, and tools. Thnx
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 15, 2007
  4. devilspy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I ran it through Riva Tuner, I have no clue what I'm doing, anyway it says its R430?
    > Hardware table: at 0xB192, Rev.2
    hw_a: 0x350F, hw_b: 0x0000
    > VESA BIOS Extension 3.00, Rev. 9.10:
    Vendor: (C) 1988-2005, ATI Technologies Inc.
    Product: R430, Rev. 01.00
    OEM: ATI ATOMBIOS
    Memory size: 256 Mb
    > ASIC config:
    0x75 = 0xE4, 0x74 = 0x03
    0x7B = 0x08, 0x7A = 0x62

    Also found this in one of the threads, forgot which had it in copy and paste, my browser crashed from the 300+ tabs I had open..


    "By DOLF
    BruceAWAY unfortunately your card can't be unlocked.


    "Quote:
    Originally Posted by omirko View Post
    I have ATI X800GT AIW 10 days

    Device ID : 554E
    Chip name : R430
    Memory size : 128 Mb
    Memory tipe : DDR3
    Active pipelines : 8
    GPU clock: 398.00 MHz
    Mem Clock : 492 MHz
    Config_die_fuses : 0xFFFF5FFF
    Config_substrate_fuses : 0xFFFFFF9D
    Config_ROM_fuses : 0xA62
    GB_pipe_select : 0x29550

    Is it possible unlock another quad of pipes?

    That card also can't be unlocked to something more than 8 pipes. Probably it could hides R480 which is very good overclocker. Try the core max. overclock with ATITool and if you figure out that it can reach 480-500MHz then return here. If it is capable of only 420-450MHz then it is R430 and you can't do more to improve the performance.
    dolf is offline Report Post Reply With Quote"


    If you take a look at my bechamrks picture my max oc I was actully able to go up to the 520/600 before screen blanked..not sure due to oc or too much draw.. Lots of conflicting information on these forums. Do I have R423 R430 OR R480 ?

    But gives me hope. I'm going to take a break from this.. my head is hurting, any help is much appriciated.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2007
  5. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    rivatuner is more for nvidia and to the best of my knowledge there is no X800gt there is a gto though, you need to flash the X850XT bios on it i believe because i THINK that is the card that has that chip but you need to reseach that
     
  6. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    ok your gonna want to flash the X800XT bios on it and you should see a performance increase and i wouldnt really recommend buying of ebay in the future
     
  7. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I'd REALLY change that PSU if you wanna push the card! Bloody good price on that card btw :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page