1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SAS hard drives

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xxdozer32, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    i have 2 SAS 72gb 15k hard drives that i came up on at my old job thinking that they were regular hard drives, what do i need to make these babys work on my computer? I believe these things were built for servers?
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    if yer in the us poke through this list for a controller card
     
  3. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    holy crap, i think im better of selling them to a person that already has a server or the adapters, i got em for free :), but i dont wanna spend anything over what i can spend to get an ssd
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,244 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,281
    stargazer7 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    newtekie made a good suggestion... those Promise are good cheap controllers. get it, they're very worth it. scsi is much more reliable than SSD. the way scsi works is strong for i/o's. you can use it while doing a random data transfer of many little files. it wont slow down. besides 15k rpm so faster access.
     
  6. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    id rather sale em at this point, i just dont know why i cant post a for sale thread :(
     
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,491 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    read the Rules for selling, pretty complex ;)
     
  8. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    why would you sell such hardware? for $50 you'll get the most reliable yet a well fast setup. all you need is that controller newtekie linked to. you dont need $1000 of shit. you arent going to run a hundred drives, ignore that suggestion....
     
  9. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    ^i have been enlightened, i just had the greatest revalation of all time. but now how to use that adapter, i r a sad noob :(
     
  10. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    also looking at the OSS it doesn't mention windows 7, i have 7 64bit
     
  11. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yeah, its an older controller. theres this

    HighPoint RocketRAID 2640X4 SGL PCI-Express x4 SAT...

    windows should load up its drivers before readying itself to install. if it doesnt, just get its drivers to usb and load them from there by pressing F something before you install win. it says that before you install windows there. if you arent going to install windows on it, install their drivers once you plug them in. like a sound card. simple as that. the interface uses SATA cabling. :)
     
    xxdozer32 says thanks.
  12. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    awesome, alright so now do i also need a cable adapter to plug these things in? i would assume so, cus neither the sata cable or ide cable fit these 2 hard drives
     
  13. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    these are them, never used 1 was opened just to look at it... part number is 459889-002

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  14. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    it be f8888cken awesome to have these running for my OS and some other games or programs :)
     
  15. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yup. sorry, i meant SATA as in a technical way. yes, you need two SAS cables. SAS uses SATA as interface but with a different end. those drives much of what they say they're. they're put in that aluminum rail to hot swap in servers. to also cool the drive down. like a WD velociraptor.
     
  16. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    so i should get 1. the controller and 2. the cable adapters? i feel like a noob, thus the reason i join forums, need help with your car i can do that, my newest hobby is computers, as i kinda built a new one a few weeks ago just for fun
     
  17. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    im lost, SAS and Sata are not the same thing right? cus i have sata cables laying around and those thing DO NOT fit these hard drives, im just looking for the easiest route to plug these bad boys in.
     
  18. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yeah, you need those 2. the old scsi was harder to setup. it required termination with metal pieces on both ends. they had different pins and stuff. with sas, scsi has been ported to sata. so its not different than having a SATA controller setup. which is easy as i explained

    sas and sata use the same cabling. but as i said, they're diffentiated so they arent interchangeable.
     
  19. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,119 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    SAS can use the same cable as SATA drives, BUT you need an adapter since the connector is not divided into 2 connectors for power and the interface (like SATA is).
    [​IMG]

    You need a small adapter which divides that one single long connector into normal SATA and normal power connector. I have a HP branded SAS drive in my PC and I have to use an adapter.

    SATA drives can be connected to SAS but SAS can't be connected by SATA.

    EDIT: also make sure you have good airflow for them since these can get really hot, and are noisy.
     
  20. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,459 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    repman244 says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  21. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    through with a rackmount rail they wont be that hot. it worked on my old 10k rpm 32 gigers. all modern cases have a fan at front so. about noise.. they do make a rotor noise. but its no more than your case especially gpu fan. it wont bother that much in a big tower.
     
  22. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,119 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Rackmount is ideal but if you have them in normal tower case (that isn't server orientated) they will run a bit hotter (but that's not such a big issue they can take much more pounding than consumer drives).
    Also the difference between 10k and 15k drives is big in terms of temperatures and noise. When idle I can clearly hear the drive but to me that's not a big deal, but some can't stand the noise...
     
  23. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    i was talking about it's aluminum cooler.. all pedastal atx cases have a fan in front so it wont be an issue. about noise, he can dampen his case or drives. these are things that easily can be worked on. as for my drives, they were old ibm xServers so worse than modern sas drives although they turn slower. those were noiser and hotter and sucked a little more power
     
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,119 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Ahh I misread your post a bit about keeping them in the hotswap bays, sorry about that.
    I agree, damping can help quite a bit with the noise.

    I bet those drives had a nice read/write head movement noise :D, I had a 72GB 15K SCSI drive in my ML350 for some time, it was crazy loud on seeks. I later got the 3 10k drives and replaced it.
     
  25. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yeah, like grrr grrr. and i loved that GROOM sound they made once they started spinning. staggered on my lsi. oh the good times. it sorta shaked the ground from my desk.. :D they never let me down on access times though. for a fact, they beat my old raptor in random access suite of seagate and Everest ultimate
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page