1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SATA and IDE RAID?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Pinchy, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well, ive got an IDE 40GB hard drive lying around.

    I was wondering if i could hook it up to my computer (with a 250G SATAII) and run it in RAID for faster times and stuff?

    Ive never used RAID before, so sorry if it sounds absurd :p
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,805 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    New York
    better speeds = raid 0 . you will reduse your total drive space to 80 gig by adding the 40gig to the 250 gig in that type of array. Not to mention I dont think you can make an array from sata to IDE.
     
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I see

    Is there any way of partitioning the 250GIG drive to 40GB and 210GB so i can raid the two 40's :p? Or is that way out of wack :p?
     
  4. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    u could do that with 2 satas or 2 ides, unless u have some sort of raid card
     
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol oh well

    may as well sell the 40GB :p
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    When you create a RAID array it is highly recommend to use identical disks. Using a 40GB IDE disk and a 250GB SATA disk might even give you performance lower than the 250GB alone. The 40GB disk will just drag the 250GB disk.

    I would forget about RAID with those disks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page