1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SATA and PSU - Plug 'n' Play?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MoonPig, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Hey,

    This may be very stupid, but it's starting to annoy me. Basically:

    1) Say i have the SATA Data cable and PSU SATA cable in, but not the Hard-Drive - can i just plug the Hard-Drive in when the computer is on? And be able to use it. Much like you would a USB Drive.

    2) When my computer is on, can i plug in the SATA modular cable in?

    I ask because at the moment i'm turning of the computer everytime i want to do this.

    Please don't laugh :ohwell:

    Thanks
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    as long as mobo chipst and hard drive are SATA II and the SATA ports are in AHCI mode (and thus, the OS has AHCI drivers installed) - yes.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  3. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,819 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Yea as mussels said.
    If not you will have to reboot for it to reconize it.
     
  4. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    board: sata II.
    HDD: sata II

    just make sure AHCI mode is on in the bios. (if you installed windows in IDE compatibility mode, you'll have to do some tweaking in order to make it boot if you change the setting)
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  6. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Right, i'll go check.

    What about the PSU one?
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    PSU is irrelevant. just dont unplug it while its writing.
     
  8. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    whats that tweaking your talking about, i have noticed you cant boot into windows with ahci mode on if it was previousley in ide mode
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    you can change the driver over, via changing some registry files.

    I recall a more complicated guide, but i found this from MS and it seems a lot simpler.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  10. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Ok, BIOS had two AHCI options. One was enabled, the other disabled. I enabled them both.

    Are you saying it's ok for me to put in and modular cable into my PSU whilst my computer is on?
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    how is plugging in a power cable to the drive any different to powering the PC on? as far as the drives concerned, its the same thing.
     
  12. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    No, forget the drives. I mean any power cable. Such as 6pin PCI-E / SATA / Molex etc.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    you can plug power cables in all you want. the danger is only if you put em in backwards or something - you can just get enough contact to fry a drive if you push hard enough.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  14. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Ok, thanks.

    Everything sorted now :D
     
  15. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    SATA is made for it, most others aren't. The basic difference in design is that with SATA ground connects first, with others this doesn't have to be the case which can result in bye bye hardware.
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,486 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,766
    yeah, you do have to be careful. theres reasons why i didnt specify it:


    Molex: fans etc, no problems with on/off. Hard drives using molex would be IDE, therefore no need for hotswapping power.

    Sata: works fine

    Anything else: well anything else is likely to be powering your motherboard, so please dont unplug it :D
     
    MoonPig says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page