1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SATA Cables

Discussion in 'Storage' started by DanishDevil, Mar 25, 2008.

?

Will any SATA cable work with SATA2 Hardware?

  1. Yes.

    24 vote(s)
    92.3%
  2. No, you need a SATA2 cable.

    1 vote(s)
    3.8%
  3. It's more complicated than yes or no...

    1 vote(s)
    3.8%
  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Do you need a SATA2 cable to run a SATA2 drive at SATA2 speed on a SATA2 motherboard, or will any SATA cable work? I see some branded as SATA2, and some only as SATA. Are there really any differences? Will using a SATA1 cable with a SATA2 drive have any negative effects like limiting file transfer speed?
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
    MKmods says thanks.
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,804 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,922
    There is no difference, just like there is no difference between SATA and SATA2.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    WTF

    sata [150]= 1.5 mbps transfer speed
    sata2(also called sata 3.0) = 3.0 mbps transfer speed

    i see a difference newtekie.

    as for the cables, tis a good question.
  4. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Actually, you're both wrong :p

    [​IMG]

    From Wikipedia.

    I should probably rephrase the question, though.

    Will using a SATA1 cable with a SATA2 drive have any negative effects? Like limiting file transfer speed. Doesn't seem like it would from the numbers, since my drive is sustained at about half of SATA1's capability.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    my bad, i need 1.5 gbps & 3.0 gbps and not mbps lol.

    i think there might be a difference, just because a sata150 cable might not be built to withstand sata2 speeds.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah, but I don't think there are any drives out there that have over 150mb/s burst speeds. I mean shit, the Raptor's are still running off of Sata-150.
  7. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    well i had a sata 2 mobo with sata 2 cable and sata 2 drive and most i got with hd tune benchmark was 75mb transfer peak so god knows were the rest went??
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Hard Drives aren't up to par with even SATA150 yet. It's just like 64-bit processing when it was released. It was future-proof but not needed or utilized yet.
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  9. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    So its a bit like pci-express 2.0 wont get the use it deserves till future cards can use up pci-e 1.1 bandwidth.

    i see thanks man. ;)
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,804 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,922
    It is only a technical difference, not an actual difference. There is no actual speed difference between SATA 1.5Gb/s and SATA 3.0GB/s.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It will be an actual difference once drives catch up to that speed.

    Who voted that I need a SATA2 cable? EXPLAIN YOURSELF!
  12. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    someone just trying to mess with you . . . although, I do find it rather funny :laugh:

    I agree though, there's no difference in SATA cables to the best of my knowledge.

    Nor are there any real world differences in speed, except for how it looks on paper. I have a SATA300 drive, and HD Tach, as well as SandraSoft and other's all show similar speeds to other 150 HDDs.

    SATA-6 connections, though, I believe is supposed to truly be faster than 1.5 and 3.0 . . . if you're running a solid state disk.
  13. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah an SSD would sustain higher speeds, but not a typical hard drive.

    COME FORWARD YEE NAY-SAYER!
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I have cut the cables apart to mod and they are the same (sata1 and 2)

    The only difference I saw was most of the sata 2 cables had the metal lock tab.

    PS: good thread DD.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  15. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yeah, I was looking for cheap UV SATA cables and wondered now that I have a SATA2 drive if the extra $4 a cable was worth it. Doesn't look like it.
  16. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    That $4 = $1.50 for the extra ink to print the 2; $.50 to the manufacturer for extra profit; $.50 to the advertisers to cover the additional power needed to display a 2 on screen
    MKmods says thanks.
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    lol, a marketeer is born...
  18. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    :D

    y'know - when you see how sales and management in the automotive repair industry charge for stuff on a customers invoice . . . you realize that with a little ingenuity, any cost can be justified :laugh:
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,804 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,922
    That was me, I'm sorry. I clicked on the wrong one. Ignore one vote for SATA2.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i am most likely wrong here but i was under the impression that sata2 cables were the same as sata1 except there were just better quality cables (metal tabs as mentioned earlier and more flexiable, ect)

    END RANT
  21. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Cables are cables. Period, have used both in multiple setups and have seen NO speed increase/decrease (even with just changing the cable)

    I would also take that chart with a grain of salt as the REAL speed for Sata drives is more in around the 70-90MB/s mark, the 150/s is the maximum burst speed the controller is capable of. same goes for the Sata2 drives.
  22. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    You need a sata 2 cable.
    Otherwise your not leet and all your sata 2 toting friends will mock your technological demise. The cables should also be SLI and Vista certified.
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  23. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I voted "It's more complicated than yes or no..."

    Only because I could.

    :D
  24. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    As to "Better", I say no (cheaper, yes). The tabs are cool, but the WD Secure Connect seems like a great idea to me.
    http://www.wdc.com/en/products/wdsc50rcw.asp

    I notice the newer cables are more stiff, and the ends are constantly breaking.
  25. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    The AC Ryan UV SATA cables are nice and flexible, but don't have the tabs. I've gotten SATA cables that weren't advertised as "SATA 2" cables that had the tabs in a motherboard box, so the tabs aren't particular to SATA 1 or 2, nor is flexibility.

    I think it's pretty safe to say that any SATA cable's gonna work...

    ...that is unless all your friends' are SLI and Vista cert ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page