1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

saving pictures from bad hdd

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Rol87, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    Hello,
    I have a laptop hard drive that has either a really nasty virus or a corrupted os. I have tried various things to try to get it to work but k have had no luck. Thiz is what it does: it powers up nd passes the BIOS and passes the windows loading bar (by the way it has windows vista) and after that it just sits on a black screen. I have tried restore but it doesn't have a saved point. I have this from a disk also i pulled up the cmd with the disk and tried chkdk nd that didn't work i also tried connecting the laptop hard drive to a to save pictures and when i do that my desktop won't boot to the desktop even after booting to the good working hard drive. It just sits on the windows 7 icon. I also got a bsod with a error of "c0000142 dll initiallization failed" this was with the laptop hdd installed on the laptop
     
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,583 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,152
    Location:
    Mexico
    does your board support hot plugging? You could go into Windows and then plug the HDD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,985 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,394
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    try to attach the hdd to other pc and try recover using recuva if the file cant be read
     
  4. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    I actually got it to load the desktop this what i did ..i put my desktop pc on sleep mod then i plug the laptop hdd and then i turn it back on nd the hdd shows under "computer folder " but the folder takes a long time to load (the green bar on top that loads when you refresh the folder) but the hdd does show it just doesn't show how much space is available. I also tried to scan the hdd with malwarebytes and when i tried that the desktop froze
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,985 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,394
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    it looks your hdd in trouble, does your hdd ticking or sound not normal?
     
  6. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    Sound is normal
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,733 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    +1 ...it sounds like toast, possibly even the controller. All you can do is keep trying, by connecting to a second computer. Assuming it's a SATA drive? What's the model?
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Take the HDD and place it in a ziplock bag and place in the freezer for like 4 hours. Then do hot swap and get as much data as you can. It only works for like 15-20 minutes then needs refroze
     
    OneMoar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,733 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Never heard that one before.
     
  10. Fatal1ty39

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    90 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    scan your HDD with HDD regenerator to see what's wrong with it.
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. bretts31344

    bretts31344

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    As a last resort, you can run Photorec.

    I have used this and it works well, just use this to sort the files that get recovered.
     
  13. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    I cant do much with programs wise because every time I connect the bad hdd to my desktop It freezes my pc. all I want to save are pictures.
     
  14. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    My guess is the HDD has a lot of Damaged sectors.

    Run HDD tune and im sure it will show up many.

    Otherwise yea connect to another PC and just grab your documents folder and copy across.

    Good luck
     
  15. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    I tried this nd it actually picked up the bad hdd but im not sure how to save the pictures
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,676 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Rochester area
    old trick :)
    sound like the drive is spent tho .... possible a issue with the other machines config
    try setting the drive to NATIVE-IDE mode in the bios after installing it in MACHINE B:
    else if the photos are absolutely 100% non replaceable you can look forward to sending the drive someplace to have it recovered
    looking at between 1200-3k depending on how fucked the drive is if its just a bad controller you can swap that your self provided you can find a identical donor drive (30-100 bucks) if you can do it your self its just two cables and some screws on most drives
    NEXT TIME MAKE BACKUPS :shadedshu why do people always wait until something breaks before being convinced that they need backups
     
  17. Rol87

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    337 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    iowa
    Thanks for the suggestion but i have tried that too nd still nothing ...and the laptop is a friend ...i always keep mine backed up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page