1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Screen flickering in 2d - Sapphire 7970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by KalashNK, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's the clocks changing. Disable Flash Hardware acceleration. I get that from time to time as well, the latest beta driver and latest flash in Windows8 avoids the problem, but when I close a browser window, the browser crashes.
     
  2. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It seems it's already disabled in Chrome.

    I don't understand if it's an hardware or software problem either if I'm not the only one. I'm not sure if return the card.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2013
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :(


    Hrm...try having GPU-Z open and see if clocks are changing when it happens. I'm pretty sure that's what causes the flicker, but why the clocks are changing would be an interesting thing to find out.
     
  4. Countryside

    Countryside

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    164 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Estonia
    Flickering

    Hi, all i have the same issue with my Sapphire 7950 Boost, but the flickering seem to occur when i'm playing directx 9.0c games like Fifa Online 2, Skyrim and Mass Effect 3 but when i play Battlefield 3 , Bioshock infinite or Metro 2033 then the flickering is gone. One more odd thing in Mass effect 3 when i'm exploring the galaxy i'm getting an odd lag.

    Driver ver: 13.1
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,947 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,741
    Install Sapphire Trixx and change your clocks (any change will do). After hitting apply the screen should go black for a moment. Does this solve the problem until reboot?
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. Countryside

    Countryside

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    164 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Estonia
    I used AMD Overdrive and set the gpu clock to stock 850 MHz it didn't help.
     
  7. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For what I've seen till now it seems to happen exactly when there are these clock changes, but raising the minimum clock to a max of 500/500 (instead of 300/150) didn't help.
    One time it happened playing bf3, but it could have been the game (or my tired eyes :ohwell: )

    It doesn't go black actually.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    My Matrix card doesn't have this problem, but I see that idle is 300/600, and when video is playing, it sits at 300/1650(ram is default 1650).

    My Gigabyte cards, they have lower idle clocks, and lower flash accelerated clocks, and they do this flicker at times, and when running multi-monitor, one monitor will change to a bunch of garbled mess.


    So it could just be a BIOS issue, or just a clock issue. I am not sure. I'm not sure why all my gigabyte cards have flicker and such, but the Matrix does not. Also, the matrix will start artifacting at times when hot, but the Gigabyte cards do not.


    I really am starting to dislike AMD cards. :p

    I'll give this a try with my Gigabyte cards..I think I know what you're hinting at here.
     
    KalashNK says thanks.
  9. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, it's really annoying. I mean it's not a cheap card, this shouldn't be happening.
    Anyway I'll try increasing the minimum memory clock to 600 if it happens again now that I've gone back to 13.1 after a lot of cleaning.
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,787 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,166
    I'll try W1zz's idea as well. Thing is, this flicker rarely happens. This is a driver issue no doubt about it. 12.11 beta 12's no flicker... Same with one of these 13.X beta's I've tried.
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,947 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,741
    CCC Overdrive will not solve the problem, you must use TRIXX.

    Another option is to go to your windows display settings, change resolution, apply, change back
    [​IMG]
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,947 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,741
    it's more like a black flicker .. 0.2 seconds or so
     
  13. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It doesn't happen to me, I swear.
    Anyway it's not so rare, it depends. Today with 13.1 I've had no flickering (but I watched only one flash video and I stayed on the web a little), a couple of days ago, with 13.3 beta 3, one or two every half an hour (quite annoying).
    I'm sure that happens with 13.1 too (to me at least) because are the first drivers I installed, then it flickered and I installed the 13.3 beta 3.
    Next time I'll increase the memory clock to 600 and I'll try the resolution change.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  14. Countryside

    Countryside

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    164 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Estonia
    Thx for the info W1zzard i will try TRIXX and let you know if it worked.
     
  15. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Easy way to tell if it the reference black pcb in gpuz it should say in SUBVENDOR ATI 1002

    If it is non-reference it should say AIB followed by a number......

    Did you try Sapphires web page and do a download bios search there?

    Does it look this with black pcb and white AMD logo or the blue one you posted??? (you might want to look in the case to be sure there is 2 versions of the dual X out) Also read the bios section pics and see if one of them matches yours.

    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/37009-sapphire-radeon-hd-7970-oc-dual-x-3gb/

    this is your bios not the vapor-x versions you posted ....
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/117406/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120207.html


    SAHD797-3GD5OC001/11197-01-40G (VD4530)

    GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x6798
    113-C3860100-V02
    Tahiti B0 CR XT C38601 GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m
    (C) 1988-2010, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    ATOMBIOSBK-AMD VER015.014.000.004.000000
    208X0CHA.V02
    Clock State 0
    Core Clk: 1000.00 MHz
    Memory Clk: 1450.00 MHz
    Flags: Boot
    Clock State 1
    Core Clk: 1000.00 MHz
    Memory Clk: 1450.00 MHz
    Flags: Optimal Perf
    Clock State 2
    Core Clk: 1000.00 MHz
    Memory Clk: 1450.00 MHz
    Flags: UVD
    Clock State 3
    Core Clk: 300.00 MHz
    Memory Clk: 150.00 MHz
    Flags:

    I highlighted your model number you posted use this bios only for that blue card......The Vapor_X your trying to use has a different pcb VD design,And why it is flickering.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  16. Countryside

    Countryside

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    164 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Estonia
    So i use TRIXX this time and played Mass Effect 3 unfortunately flickering continued.
     
  17. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually I haven't touched the bios, mine is this:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/131192/Sapphire.HD7970.3072.120926_1.html (same id, ver...)
    The PCB is the blue one, Subvendor in Gpu-Z: Sapphire/PCPartner (174B)
     
  18. N_L New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have to bump this topic:

    Guys I have a problem with my 7970:

    Ever since I built this PC I've been having random flickers. It lasts less than a second so it's hard to capture but it's basically like white with some lines, usually not even all over screen and it happens fast. Like this at 0:29 flickering - YouTube (linked on previous page, I could never capture it myself)
    It comes and goes, sometimes takes hours or not at all in days, sometimes few in a row and I thought oh well and haven't been trying to fix it until this happened:
    http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/1499126/

    Sound and everything in background worked and I couldn't see or get out from this.
    I am running latest drivers and catalyst and also have latest MSI afterburner installed, but should note it also happened on last 3 versions of drivers. I do a thorough uninstall of drivers before installing new ones so I don't think that's the problem, plus it was happening with first ones on brand new HDD and PC.

    What I've done is disconnected DVI cable and tried HDMI and flicking happened. I think it's one of 3 things: graphics card is bad, graphics card interaction with monitor is bad, monitor is bad. Last one I don't think so because I play 360 and ps3 on it and no problems there. Plus I've been running on onboard graphics card and it hasn't happened yet so yeah..

    I've been suggested to RMA card but I want to be 100% sure what's the problem because me RMAing it involves a lot of pain for me because I bought it in another country so yeah, trying to keep it as last option.

    P.S. Thing from picture hasn't happened again.
     
  19. ur6beersaway

    ur6beersaway

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    New York
    What is your power supply, model 7970 & are you overclocking?
     
  20. N_L New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    800W COOLER MASTER Silent, it's bit big because I'm planning on adding another 7970.

    I'm not overclocking but this is a "boost edition" that's overclocked from the box, I'm gonna try underclocking it now in MSI afterburner and see if anything changes.
    It's running at 1050mhz core clock and 1375 mhz memory clock.

    Card's name is MSI 7970 Twin frozr 3 BE
     
  21. ur6beersaway

    ur6beersaway

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks, Looks good. You should not have ANY issues in boost or stock, was wondering if you can try uninstalling after burner & running sapphire trixx, if anything changes. Or you can OC with AMD vision engine control center also, without anything, if it clears up the problem. just sayin..
     
  22. N_L New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I will try, I'm underclocked atm and no flickers for a while, waiting, took a while on HDMI yesterday too.
    (800 and 925)
     
  23. N_L New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just noticed my 7970 goes to 80c with fan on 80+% (due to fan curve in afterburner), this isn't right? This seems very excessive plus flicker problem, is it bad after all?

    Was playing a game so not idle.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  24. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    This card should not be running that hot " 80c with fan on 80+% ":wtf: Have you tried using the other bios on the card?? Are you the first owner of the card?
    Use AMD's Driver Cleaner flip the bios switch to the other bios & reinstall the drivers. If the over heating prob still is an issue you will have to put some new TIM on the GPU lots of MSI card have WAY too much on them == over heating. Looking @ the link you posted from 'overclock' [I assume it not your card just a pic of similar issue] if that occurs on a regular basis you should really think about An RMA to MSI. You could try Posting your issue A their vid card forum & see if anyone can help

    edit: So your card has NO dual bios switch???? [note pic 1__2 area]
     

    Attached Files:

    • msi.PNG
      msi.PNG
      File size:
      186.8 KB
      Views:
      53
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013
  25. N_L New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't tried using new BIOS, will it void my warranty if I do? I am the first owner and I bought it new along with rest of PC in the beginning of may so it's still under warranty and if there's anything wrong with it I'd rather send it back than spend my time fixing it and worrying about it. There's a sticker on screws so if I open to change paste it will void warranty (could remove carefully but would rather not).
    It is my pic here's better link: http://imgur.com/Z7nugOz I asked there first so copy pasted it, then I found this thread on google because it was similar issue.
    That thing from picture however hasn't happened again, no idea what or why it did.
    Gonna post in that forum now too, thanks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page