1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Screen goes black and won't change till sleep

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by satindemon4u, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Basically, when I load up a game the screen goes black. The only way to get out of this is to put the computer to sleep and wake it up. After this there is a chance it will do it all over again.

    This problem also seems to happen when I don't use my laptop for 30 minutes or whatever so it turns the screen off. When I wiggle the mouse or hit a key to wake the screen up, there is a chance it will be just black and I have to put it to sleep and wake it up and try again.

    Ideas of what is going on? Bumped this on 3/2/2014 because I thought it was fixed a month or so ago but apparently not. Have tried to use ONLY manufacturer drivers with no luck. Updating to latest Nvidia drivers also provides no fix. Something I should do in the bios?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    does this laptop have dual graphics, an intel and the nvidia?
     
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Yes it does.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    go to older drivers, preferably from the laptop manufacuter themselves. sometimes with those systems the new drivers pretty much abandon the 'fancy' dual graphics hardware, and things go bad. IIRC there was a website with third party, custom made drivers for people screwed over by that situation.

    edit: its leschcatlabs, and its only for AMD+intel. wont help you.
     
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Well crap. Should I just grab the driver from Sony's website then?
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    definitely. make sure to uninstall the new drivers fully before installing the old ones.
     
  7. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Will do. Will post back with results!
    From what I can tell...so far...problem solved! :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2014
  8. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Alright, bringing this thread back up because apparently the problem still isn't fixed. :/ Anymore ideas?
     
  9. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Surely it's timed to go to sleep after 10 mins so go in the Advanced Power Options change the display off and sleep settings.
    Could also be a need for more juice if it's blanking when you load a game so while you're in the power settings switch it to High Performance.
     
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Already set to high performance. And as far as the screen going off after ten minutes I know that's due to how I have it set but upon trying to turn the screen back on it shouldn't stay black. Its not a pitch black either, its that sort of off black so I know the screen is on just not displaying anything
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    could it be displaying to the wrong monitor output on your system? how many other monitor connection does your system have?
     
  12. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    612 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Could be BIOS related issue (it was on my laptop and they released a new BIOS for it)- any BIOS releases for your laptop? Also, I see you have Win 8, may be update to 8.1 and see if the issue persists? (the update is free)
     
  13. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    I should update that, I currently have windows 8.1. Also if I am not mistaken the bios is updated to the latest version.
    Mussels, no other monitors are hooked up.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    not monitors - outputs from your video cards
     
  15. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    There is one HDMI port and I believe that's it. I can make sure when I get home.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532

    the only other thing i can think of, try opening and closing the lid of the laptop after disabling the 'sleep when lid is closed' feature of windows. my laptops had glitches sometimes after using HDMI where i've had to do that before, and my HDTV was a different res to the laptop.
     
  17. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    783 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    I'll give it a go and see what happens.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page