1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

screen goes gray when overclocking

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by method526, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    my HIS IceQ4 4850 Turbo has been going gray lately when it's been overclocked. fanspeed is at 80% and i have 120mm fan blowing on the card as well. the card has been doing this lately and never before did it when i first got it (about 2-3 weeks ago). is the gray like a foreshadowing of burning out?
     
  2. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    have you returned it to stock speed? Does it do it at stock speed?

    Can you set up your system specs so maybe we can determine if it is something else in your system affecting the gpu?
    (Go to user CP and on the left sidebar select system specs and fill it out)
     
  3. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    yea it's back at stock speed now.
     
  4. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    been seeing alot of threads about problems with the 4850... System specs may also help. try reinstalling or updating drivers? temps?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    my specs are:
    Q6600 @ 3.6 450 x 8
    4GB CellShock 800Mhz @ 900Mhz 5-5-5-15
    Abit IP35 Pro
    HIS IceQ4 4850 Turbo (stock 650/1000)
    WD Velociraptor
    Antec 1200
     
  6. TmdRockz™

    TmdRockz™ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    236 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    SRI LANKA
    is it happens when its on stock ? what about temps ? tell more info abt it
     
  7. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,608 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i think he got same problem like i had with my his radeon 4870x2 i hade sttrange screen lineas and grey fields on screen.and default clocks didnt helped me and vcard started these problems around 3-4week after i bought it.i couldnt do anything about it,even though i didnt overclocked it not even once.it just was defect.so i sended it back to store and they gave me new.
     
  8. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    no it happens when overclocking/overclocked. i used to run on 700/1200 then i started to get gray screens days later. i even get gray screens when i try to "Auto-Tune" it. card stays cool since i got lots of fans and the card is on 75% fan speed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page