1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

screen size

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by savillm, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    what screen size should i be useing atm?

    i was useing 1024 by 768 but ive changed to 1280 by 1024.

    is this a good screen size to use?
  2. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that's what I use
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Several suggestions:

    • This is a software question, post it under software.
    • Be more specific, are you talking about your desktop? Some game?
    • A topic should have a descriptive title.

    If you're talking about your desktop, use whatever suits you. If you enjoy working at 320×240 you should do so, if you prefer 1600×1200, it's fine as well.
    Though if you're using a CRT monitor make sure your refresh rate is set to at least 70-75 Hertz otherwise you're wasting your eyes. If your monitor does not support this lower the resolution.
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    That isn't size, it's resolution. Most LCD screens only look completely shart at their Native resolution, but CRT screens will work quite well at most resolutions. Higher resolutions generally look clearer and have more detail, so chose 1280 by 1024 where you can, unless like Dan says, you prefer something lower.
  5. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    1600x1200 all the way baby, and my new lcd dosnt seem to suffer unless i take the res below 1024, then it gets little blury, but who uses 800x600 or 640x480 anymore?

    *grummbles* dam it i gotta agree with DTB here, if ur monotor cant do at least 70hz at 1600x1200 dont go that high, headakes and eye strain will result for most people!!!! also reammber that you can force refreshrates for testing, my 19in crt is rated for 70-75hz at 1600x1200 but it acctualy is capable of 80-85, my 17in mitsubishi dimontron (.23dot pitch) is rated for 60hz @ 1600x1200 according to drivers, but really does 75 just fine(and if you read the whitepapers/data sheets its fully capable of it with the VGA cable, RGBA cables offer up to 85....)
    1280x1024@60hz is"ok" but any modern or even simi modern monotor should beable to do at least 70@1280x1024.
    hell even this old 15in crt i use on one of my servers can do that and its ANCIENT!!!!!

    my advice with LCD's is a bit diffrant, dvi-D is a must, and then max out the refresh rate, not to the max the monotor driver says, thats for the vga connection(analog) with DVI-D(pure digital) the monotor dosnt have a "refresh rate" the refreshrate is just how fast ur cards gonna send data to ur LCD to display, at 60(driver max at native res) this thing shows taring and jumping when u move windows and such, at 120 it is rock smooooth!!!!
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    wow i didnt know you could force things like that ashen now im going to try 1280x1024@ higher refresh rates thought i was limited to 60hz
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    it might be when i change mine from 60hz to 75hz it goes back,even tho my monitor says it supports 56-75hz
  8. fredde New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    62 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    AshenSugar, Are you saying that the 60Hz that my LG LCD monitor is supposed to be set at is only for analog and it is perfectly Safe to set the refresh rate as high as possible when using DVI? If so, I will crank mine up.
    Thank You.
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,357 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    902
    It depends on the size of your monitor, I can live with 1024x768 or 1280x1024 with a 19" monitor, but that gets bad with a 17" or smaller.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    ugg @ 1280x1024 my monitor sais out of range when you try to go higher than 60hz
  11. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    In my experience and from what I've read on the internet refresh rate on an LCD doesn't really have any effect, I wouldn't risk setting it higher than it wants to be honest, even 60Hz looks ok on an LCD. They work in such a different way to CRT where higher refresh rates look better and give less headaches.
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    just turn of vsync in games and it wont make any diff

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page