• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Scythe Yasya.. with push-pins... Problem

System Name Black Panther
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO Wifi 1.0
Cooling NZXT Kraken X72 360mm
Memory 2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit RTX2080 Ti Dual 11GB DDR6
Storage Samsung EVO 970 500GB SSD M.2 & 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm
Display(s) 32'' Gigabyte G32QC 2560x1440 165Hz
Case NZXT H710i Black
Audio Device(s) Razer Electra V2 & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850 Gold 80+
Mouse Some Corsair lost the box forgot the model
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
OK so far I haven't broken anything, I actually forgot my thermal paste so I can't install it today..

I assembled the cooler (fan & pins) and was trying to figure out how it goes.

I can already see myself having a tough time aligning all the pins (it's my first time with push-pins).

OK so they should be turned clock-wise so that they don't pop out again. So far so good.

However, I've been trying to pop some of the pins, outside the motherboard of course, and I can't do it :eek: outside the motherboard!!

And I can see no way how I'd be able to get my finger underneath the cooler above the motherboard to push them either (assuming I can manage to push them)..

I found advice saying that it's better to install the cooler with the motherboard outside of the case.
But outside the case, I'd have no way to hold the motherboard steady.. while in the case it's steady and I can see the back of the motherboard very clearly.

Any tips or tricks please?

System Name Senile
Processor I7-4790K@4.8 GHz 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z97-G45 Gaming
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x10Tb WD Blue