1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb 3.5" Sata Hard Drive 32m

Discussion in 'Storage' started by philoxus, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. philoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi all,

    first post to the forum. Here goes.........

    I'm running a 2008 24" imac OS 10.6.3, I have recently bought a SEAGATE BARRACUDA 1.5TB 3.5" SATA HARD DRIVE 32M to put into a LaCie Cinema Bridge. The Cinema Bridge needs it's drive to be formatted in FAT 32, I've done this through my mac but it doesn't seem to want to allow me put any files onto the drive........


    I was wondering if I had done anything wrong or if there was something I'm missing?

    Any help would be most appreciated.

    ThanQ in advance.

    Phil:)
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    what kind of files are you trying to put on there, and how? (are you copying from the mac, or another source)
     
  3. philoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Drag and drop, movie files. AVIs. From my mac.


    Phil
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    how large are the files?
     
  5. philoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Generally between 700mb and 1.5 gb.

    It's weird, when I initially drag the folder to the drive I get an error saying they already exist in that location, but they don't. Then I drag the actual file and they move without problem!?!

    Phil
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,566 (11.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    hmm.

    fat32 has a limit of 4GB per file, which is why i asked.

    not being a mac user myself my advice here is going to be vague - is there another method to copy them? instead of clicking and dragging, do you have a copy-paste equivalent via the keyboard, or menu options?
    Does this media device come with its own software or another method to copy the files?
     
  7. philoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    I should be able to try and transfer them another way, I'll have a go this afternoon when I get home from work.

    The 'bridge' does come with some software but only regarding the firmware I believe...


    I have actually successfully managed to put a couple of movies on the drive but the bridge doesn't recognise them.......


    Thanks for your support Mussels


    Phil
     
  8. philoxus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK



    Nope, drag and drop is all.


    I've reformatted the drive and it now accepts 'drag and drop' movies however the cinema bridge can't see them....


    Phil
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page