1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seagate clicking

Discussion in 'Storage' started by PP Mguire, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,239 (4.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,011
    Location:
    Home
    P55-UD3R, and you said that you cant afford a 2tb harddrive
     
  2. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    596 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    I have a Seagate 1tb external drive too, same issue. Works great, but clicks like a mofo.

    Anyway, AFAIK, seagate offer a data recovery service if your drive has to be RMA'd. They charge you for it, but thats probably your best option.
     
  3. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Mine was free.

    Read above.

    Mine was solely on the motherboard. The drive has no malfunctions of its own that i know of. I find it kinda hard to believe it was just cause the slot but oh well, as long as it works right :rockout:
     
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Whats your maping of the sata's in Bios? I found that with ACHI, if you install a non SSD, normal hdd, in the first two sata ports (0/1), then the hdd will have a clicking noise to it since it's trying to get data from it faster then it's set up to do.

    I tried it since I went to the Raven case. But, since I first heard the clicking:

    the SSD is in 0
    Hdd's in 2/3
    Opticial in 4

    In all, I'm glad you got it working man!

    :rockout:
     
  5. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I had the drives in 2 and 3. As in drives i mean 1tb and 2tb Seagates. Ive had my dual 1tb drives in those slots since ive had the board but it just went bonkers on me so i moved both drives to 4 and 5 which have never been used.

    Im glad too cause i was seriously going nuts. First that, then the citation fine :banghead: Now all i gotta do is fix the fine.
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    It is strange.. I'll have my system back up come tonight when I get my 5870 back in.. I'll try and hear for clicking since I got a seagate 1.5tb that started it when it was stationed in port 1..

    Did you update the bios to A51 (I think its 51, might be 56) yet? I haven't since I haven't felt the need to..
     
  7. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I havent updated anything really since i got this thing. Havent felt the need either.

    Edit: Just updated the bios. It has an over 200 bsclck setting now. Idk if we could get higher OCs with that or not though. I capped around 220.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  8. mchlor

    mchlor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    damn...

    my seagate clicks too intermittenly. I blame gigabyte. I stuck a known good drive on this motherboard and it started clicking too. GAH! It's like the motherboard is overclocking the harddrive. Lol?
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,345
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    mchlor

    is that really your PC in your system specs?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,725 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,445
    Cheap PCI-e controller card and you are off and running again.
     
    PP Mguire says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. mchlor

    mchlor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @brandon: well it's one of my PC's and my favorite and most beloved. I think Leo LaPorte would agree. That antec case alone is a conversational piece. When it was introduced Antec had a picture of a 6ft tall dude standing on it. It weights about 70lbs and it's built like a tank. Best of all it costed me only $89 in 1998 and it came with antec server grade power supply. hehe.

    ok back on the subject.
    @steevo: well I can buy a pci-e controller for $79 or I can buy a full p45 + ich10r motherboard for $79 and ditch this POS fry's freebie gigabyte g41 no ahci crap.
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,146 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    im really surprised someone around here knows who Leo LaPorte is
     
  13. mchlor

    mchlor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I taught him everything he knows.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,146 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    I loved the Screen Savers and Call for Help, when G4 TV was known as Ziff Davis TV- ZD TV then Tech TV.

    I also own a case from the Early 2000s, and its built like a tank, wish Antec would make the same case but it being wider, having more cooling, and more 3.5 internal, more than 7 PCI Expansion slots and more 5.25 slots. Overall Taller, Wider and Longer.
     
  15. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Yea i thought about that. It dosent need to boot but damn thats a killer on cable management for me :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page