1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

seagate expansion 1tb external harddisk

Discussion in 'Storage' started by mafia97, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    hi all,
    i recently bought a seagate expansion 1tb external harddisk to backup my whole system and format.
    so when i connceted it to backup my system,it starts a beeping sound.
    so i searched around the net,and found that my harddisk is not getting enough power.
    I tried it on friends laptop,its working absolutely fine,tried copying and deleting data both.
    But sometimes the hard disk on my pc gets detected,but when i try to copy data,it gets disconnected and starts beeping again.
    is there anysolution to this problem.
    the hardisk is new,and works on my firends system.
    my system is given is system spec.
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If the drive is using the USB port to get power, then it may not be getting the required amount from the port you are using.
    This could be: bad connection, faulty port power, or to many devices using the port's power than the port can supply power to.

    1. Disconnect any other devices from that port and try it.
    2. Try using a separate powered hub, if you have one one or have access to one.
    3. Try a different port.
    4. If, you are using an extended or long length of cable, try a shorter one. You may want to try another cable for the heck of it, anyway.

    While the device is plugged in, check in device manager, to see what devices are using the power and on which ports.

    powerusb.png

    Or try using usbview or usbdeview to see what is using what and where.

    usbview.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    Its not.

    the Seagate Expansion runs a 3.5" HDD in a caddy that comes with its own AC adapter not a 2.5" laptop one.


    Id say the AC adapter could be faulty and to take the drive back to the shop for a replacement.
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    A lot of times these external drives are actually just 3.5" hard drives with a SATA interface. A number of years ago my enclosure for my 320gb backup drive died and I just ended up ripping open the enclosure and installing the drive into my case and the drive was detected right away. This may be an option for you if you have room in your case and a SATA port for another hard drive.

    As FreedomEclipse said, you can bring it back and get it repaired, but if you're worrying about your backup (if it's the only place your data is,) you may want to open it up just to make sure you can get your stuff back. Just keep in mind that doing this will void your warranty.
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,764 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,304
    another question...

    Have you tried plugging it in to other USB ports??? sometimes some USB ports can be really fussy with what you connect to them.

    My dad regularly have issues with one of his ports that doesnt like to recognise USB memory sticks or external hard drives and will throw up an 'Unknown Device' error in windows. however, its more then happy enough to pick up other stuff like printers and scanners etc etc.
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    this really does sound like a USB power issue.

    is this drive powered via USB? are you using a laptop? front USB ports on your case? rear ports on the motherboard?

    try getting an external USB hub with its own power brick, that should solve the issue.

    otherwise, just try a new cable/USB port.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  7. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    this drive is usb powered,i should have told u guys earlier :p
    yup i tried all the ports available to me.
    I went to another friends house,on that the hardisk worked fine,with the case usb ports.
    i also think there is a power issue.
    EDIT: i also tried all the cables i had,long short,all the sizes.
    i read somewhere,that someone solved the problem with a filter usb cable,whats that???
     
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's just a capacitive (and resistive) filter that is supposed to smooth any ripple in the power that gets provided to the device, I don't think this is the problem. Do other "high-power" usb devices work fine on your computer? If it is a power issue, a powered USB hub might solve your problem, but that is just a guess.
     
  9. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    i connect my phone,my psp,they work fine and charge too on my pc.
    earlier all external harddisk workd fine on my pc,recently only they started acting this way.
    my frnds hdd also started disconnecting while transfering data on my pc.
    i thought that it was windows issue,but now when i have clean installed a new windows,it still persist.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    My old ASUS M4N72-E has USB jumpers to switch from providing +5vsb or providing +5v, if you're motherboard has the same jumpers and they're on +5vsb, you could be over-drawing that 5v rail as the 5v stand by has a very limited amount of current draw. (+5v is constant 5v when the system is active, +5vsb will provide power when the system is in stand by.)

    Even on large power supplies (I just got a new 1kw Seasonic power supply,) and the +5Vsb can only provide 15-watt (3 amps @ 5v,) total. If all of your USB ports are using, this you could be over drawing it. (Keep in mind each USB port has a 5v @ 500ma limit each,) in addition to any other component that may be using it (which isn't many.)

    Also if you could install SpeedFan or check your BIOS, could you tell us what your system voltages look like? Also have you been experience any stability issues lately, because if you are it could be a sign of a much bigger problem.

    Edit: Additionally some 2.5 external drives require a special cable that plugs into two usb ports so it can draw twice as much power to drive the hard drive. (1 amp instead of 500mA.)
     
  11. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    please tell me more about jumpers,i dont knw wat to do,can u serarch for my mobo and please tell,sorry dont know a thing about this.

    no there are no stability issues with my pc,ya but it carshed twice while i was uploading a video on youtube,but it works fine in all benchmarks and games.

    i will tell u about voltage in just a moment.
    EDIT: voltages are same as before,and in the recommended ranges,i checked from bios
    BTW bios is detecting seagate hardisk when i got to boot device priority.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Example Jumper for +5V and +5Vsb. Pardon the close quarters. They don't make it easy to take a picture of it. This is on my M4N72-E.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Are your chipset drivers up to date?
     
  14. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    yup Y cable,i have it,but in it all are usb male ports,no female port,so i m going to buy a new one tomorrow.
     
  15. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    yup latest
     
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If it is designed for the hard drive, it should go right from 2xMale to 1xMale for which ever connector your hard drive uses, most likely USB mini or micro. Also I don't recommend using it if it didn't come with one.
     
  17. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
  18. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    No its not designed for this HDD,it was for some other HDD.
    so i will have to get new one for this
    EDIT:the hdd is even detected on my LG LED tv :p
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  19. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    What model number expansion drive is that Seagate?
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If it didn't come with one, don't try giving it more power, it won't do it any good. It almost sounds like an issue with your USB controller or the software driving your USB controller. Does your Device Manager show any hardware without drivers or any issues with hardware already installed?

    If you can get the drive to work on another computer without a problem, that isn't a good sign for your hardware. Could you try uninstalling your chipset drivers and re-installing them?
     
  21. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    There maybe a firmware update for the drive.
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,342 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The impression is that the drive works fine on other devices except this computer. He also said his friend's usb HDD also had odd behavior on his computer. I highly doubt the firmware for the drive needs to be updated. I would actually even be surprised if seagate has firmware for it.
     
  23. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    903 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    242
    Seagate has had some problematic drives. I think that is why 95Viper was asking about what model it is.

    Providing the model number would be a good place to start an armchair diagnosis.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    its just your power supply weakening/failing over time.

    read the mobo manual for info on a 5V/5VSB jumper, but most likely the PSU needs to be replaced - especially since you said 'it never crashes - except when it does'
     
  25. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Model no. is st910004exm101.
    Both the HDD i tried on my pc are seagate,could that be the case??
    i am trying to arrange some other brand HDD.
    changing the PSU is a big expenditure,how can i be certain that it is the cause??
    and my mobo has awful lot of usb,atleast 8,can that be the cause??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page