1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seagate GoFlex Home NAS

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by cdawall, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have a GoFlex home NAS...I have an odd ball issue. I refuse to use the stupid software crap they give you and chose to use the network address instead for the remote drive. So Windows Explorer shows a "public" and a "private" folder for me to save my crap. Well I was trying to transfer all of my games/movies to the drive for a backup/reload. Drive kicked out a message saying it was full. Funny thing is I still have 1.5TB of room left. Anyone know why it is being stupid?

    I tried 3 or 4 more times and swapped between trying to transfer to my private folder and finally just kicked it to public and it worked.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,609 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,229
    Somr sort of quota on the private folder?
     
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I think so I will probably call seagate and make sure Tuesday nothing online points me in any direction...
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    So the "landing zone" of the PC copying has to be larger? or the server? because the server is not on windows.
     
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Well, since no one else is offering up any info and you are not using WHS or OS on your NAS...

    I will hazard a guess (which may be off) that your landing zone is on your OS drive.

    Check, your free space on the OS drive and try to copy a file that is larger and then smaller.
    If the larger fails and the smaller works, you found the bottleneck.
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Will make an attempt I don't know if I can even see the os section.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page