1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SeaSonic Power Supplies Ready for Intel Haswell

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 13, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,860 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,715
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    SeaSonic Electronics congratulates Intel on the launch of the Haswell Processors. We are inspired by the continuing efforts made by Intel to push the boundaries of performance and at the same time, be environmentally conscious through reduction of energy consumption. These are the exact same attributes which have driven Sea Sonic for the past 35+ years.

    As we strive for industry leading performance, we continue to research the long term effects of each of our design. By continuously improving our efficiency we try to achieve maximum energy savings and by using high quality components we aim to prolong product lifetime; all to achieve long term sustainability. Our full lines of 80 PLUS Platinum and Gold power supplies have been designed to be ready to meet Haswell's new technical requirements!

    The ultra efficient Platinum series, which also includes the industry leading true fanless models, and our long running, award winning X Series, which is now supported by the 80 PLUS Gold G series - are all Haswell READY! In addition, our 80 PLUS Bronze line up, consisting of the M12II-750 & 850W models, is also compatible to be used with Intel's new Haswell Processors.
     
  2. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    723 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Yes...... now i can sleep well at night, my Seasonic X660 is Haswell ready. I highly think i will be getting Haswell within a month or so of its release, together with an IntelĀ® Desktop Board DZ87KLT-75K which has been reported to have C2 stepping chipset that has the USB 3.0 issue fixed and will be available at launch.
     
  3. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,230 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    what a bunch of bullshitochen. Make people buy products by scaring them their PSU might not work with haswell
     
  4. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Haswell has to many problems for system builders, im not going to build any, skipping this gen completely.

    2011, 1155 or AM3+ only
     
  5. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    954 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Australia
    All the corsair AX, HX, TX, GS series support haswell too so no drama.
     
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,872
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Unless you're a hardcore enthusiast, I dont think anybody with a current gen chip will upgrade.
    Unless somebody desperately wants power saving features to save a couple of bucks here and there, and a few percent performance increase, there really is little point in upgrading unless your chip is pretty damn outdated.
     
  7. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    To Hell with this nonsense...
     
  8. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    954 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    Australia
    I think theres plenty good reasons to upgrade. Bclk and multi overclocking, CPU overclocking performance, 4 intel sata 6GB/s ports, low power, etc.

    Plus theres some serious competition with new gen motherboards so some nice features like thunderbolt, 802/ac and quality motherboard audio.

    Looking at the large range from Asus, Asrock etc, they must have faith in the platform. If Haswell overclocks to 5GHz+ plenty will want it just for that.
     
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,872
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    It's a shame most decent AMD boards provide 6 sata 6GB/s ports already. Never understood why Intel board's cheaped out on it.
     
  10. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,512 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    You'll probably find that any vendor/OEM/ODM that offers a zero-load capability PSU is covered for Haswell usage....assuming you're using C6/C7
    Not sure what all the wailing is about anyhow. C6 has been a staple of Intel CPU's since LGA 1366, and C7 is featured in the BIOS of some motherboards - RIVE for example
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Current Gen chip yes thats true, but I mean normal everyday people looking for a new new computer, there is just to many issues with Haswell that ill be passing on building any for clients unless they realy want one.
     
  12. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,024 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    This. Any PSU supports Haswell when C6/C7 is disabled. Drawback is idle power consumption of 10 W instead of 100 mW.
     
  13. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    766 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Considering how poor the performance is of Haswell I doubt that technically informed folks will be lined up to buy it. It's good to know that Seasonic PSUs are always on the leading edge in tech and performance.

    As far as Haswell's dumbarse power requirements... You will need to manually disable C6/C7 power states in the BIOS if your PSU doesn't support Intel's ignorance. Otherwise you will be SOL.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,673 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think you're blowing this out of proportion. Most hardware will not use a feature if it doesn't support it. To assume that the motherboard doesn't have these features disabled by default is probably a bad assumption considering that the last several motherboards I've owned have defaulted with most of the C-states disabled, AMD and Intel alike. My P9X79 Deluxe out of the box disables all C-states.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page