1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Security risk found for home routers

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Jetster, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,707 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Location:
    Oregon
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Proph3t, HTC, jgunning and 9 others say thanks.
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Heard of this and my Amped Wireless R20000G and R10000 are not on any of the 3 lists!

    http://remixedcat.blogspot.com/2013/02/huge-upnp-vulnerability-in-lots-of.html

    I have a link to the lists as well....


    I did both tests with UPnP on and I passed and go the "not responding" message instead of rejected message which the not responding message is the best one.

    But both those routers ship with UPNP disabled.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Jetster says thanks.
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,281 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Was turned on by default. Now off. Nothing I used anyways. Thanks for the tip. Router is a netgear 3700.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,447 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Shields up Captain:
    "THE EQUIPMENT AT THE TARGET IP ADDRESS
    DID NOT RESPOND TO OUR UPnP PROBES!

    (That's good news!)"
    remixedcat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Safe
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    Same here all blocked.
  7. droopyRO

    droopyRO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    116 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Romania
    Safe here also ... but why is the FBI knocking on my door ?
  8. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    also guys please specify what router you have here too... that would help others.
    _JP_ says thanks.
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,750 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    US
    WRT54G running Tomato
  10. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    _JP_ and remixedcat say thanks.
  11. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Looks like I am NOT Safe as well :nutkick: .

    [​IMG]


    I am using a AWB RG300 4G WiMAX Modem/Router that was supplied by my ISP.
  12. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Router Model: Conceptronic C54BRS4A v1.0 (Grey box)
    Firmware Version: 2.02

    UPnP ON
    Results:
    UPnP OFF
    Results:
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Everything's fine over here. I have D-link DIR 600 if that helps others.
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,342 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Netopia 3341 ADSL Gateway (PPPoE)
    D-Link DGL-4500 Router
    Did not respond to UPnP probes.


    There's your problem.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    I have one router plugged into the web and another router plugged into that. If the primary router is safe so is the second one correct?
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,342 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Only if you are positive that the first router is not responding. If the first is passing it through to the second and the second is not responding, the first may still be vulnerable.
    remixedcat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    So you have two routers on the same network and why?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    No the one I tested is the primary one. It didn't respond. The other one gets its internet connection from the primary one. No worries then. Thanks.

    Because one I have to use because I get my phone through it. However its not really the best wireless. So I have another router hooked up to it for wireless. Tablets and smart phones just don't like the primary router.
  19. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    My ISP only sells that Modem/Router and provides no option for 3rd-party :banghead: Modem/Router.


    With UPnP OFF I get:
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    wow with UPNP off you should get the "not responding" instead of rejection... that's wierd...

    I get the "not responding" message with UPNP on on my Amped.
  21. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I have ATT Uverse router, says im all safe on my end.
  22. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,235 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    I run ShieldsUp! every once in a while since many years. Still trust it.

    BTW, "REJECTED" is slightly less secure then "NOT RESPONDED"
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Yups and that's what I was sayin earlier...
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,349 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Asus RT-N16 running EasyTomato, no response.
  25. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Hmm... Sad.

    And it seems I won't be able to turn off UPnP after all... having trouble playing Multiplayer without it :( .

    And am I the only one here with this Security Issue? LOL.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page