1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seeking BIOS for Powercolor HD4890 PCS+

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Randy Bobandy, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm looking for an HD4890 BIOS, version 011.022.001.005.032404 or later, specifically from a Powercolor HD4890 PCS+ card.

    I recently bought two of 'em, but they both have BIOS 011.022.001.000.032215. Which would ordinarily be fine, except that I'm one of the unlucky few who's trying to pair them with a Dell 2408WFP LCD:

    <http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/263520-33-4890-problem-plese-help>
    <http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=112160>
    <http://en.community.dell.com/forums/p/19257125/19499666.aspx>
    <http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20090416184301534>

    I used ATI Flash to replace one of my cards' BIOS with an updated Sapphire BIOS, but it bricked my card. So I had to install it into my second PCI-E slot and re-flash back to the original BIOS.

    The VGA Bios Database doesn't have a BIOS for the PCS+ version of the Powercolor HD4890, and I'm still waiting to hear from Powercolor on this issue. The only solution I've found online is to flash with a newer BIOS.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    One of the support techs at Powercolor sent me a new BIOS today (version 011.022.006.000.000000).

    I won't get a chance to try it out until tonight, but will report back once I do, in case anyone else cares about this issue.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
  3. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yep, that did the trick!
     
  4. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    can you please share the bios?
     
  5. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    What has the world come to...
    Bios updates for graphics cards.
     
  6. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Just submitted it to the VGA BIOS Database!
     
  7. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Thanks but I can't find the bios in the TPU database, sometimes it takes ages to be there, please private it to me or upload it on the website
     
  8. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yeah, I wondered about the turnaround time on that, having never submitted to the database before.

    Anyway, I just sent you a PM with a link to the BIOS file.
     
    aquax says thanks.
  9. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yes its not there yet i just looked could you pm a link to the bios for me as well thanks
     
  10. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    PM sent!
     
    glenboy says thanks.
  11. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    cheers dude got it ok

    :)
     
  12. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    np!
     
  13. glenboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    cheers randy :toast: interestingly the voltage on the pcs in 3d is the normal 1.3125 so powercolor must have cherry picked better binned chips for the gpus, fan profiles is a bit more aggressive than standard card to cope with the higher gpu speed
     
  14. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    yeah 1.3125v is somewhat low for 950MHz Core, as I know the vcore was 1.50v
     
  15. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yeah, that does seem to be the case. I got one "good one" (capable of 1.0GHz/1.2GHz no problem), and one that can't get much past 950MHz/1.1GHz. I haven't bothered to try to mod the voltage registers yet, but I might if I decide to upgrade the coolers. (I've been lusting after a Koolance Exos2 V2 for a while, but can't quite bring myself to bite the bullet!) I set the fans to a constant 50%, which seems to keep the cards cool enough without generating much noise.
     
  16. d0minat0r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I need this bios or original bios from AX4890 1GBD5
    Thanks
     
  17. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Sent you a PM last night.
     
  18. d0minat0r New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    BIG thanks :)
     
  19. egarT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Randy, I would love if you could send me and PM with the link aswell.. Bought the PCS+ a week ago and the sound is something out of this world, Then i noticed that if you update the bios for it the sound lvl will decreace. Thanks In advance.

    -egarT
     
  20. eva2000

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Make that another person interested in the bios i got an Amaze HD4890 it uses same pcb/controller and memory as Powercolor PCS so interested in this bios for powercolor pcs.
     
  21. eva2000

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks Randy seems my Amaze bios version is same with newer date 6/18 vs 6/12. Download links for both bios 1st post here.

    RBE screenshot capture links below

    Powercolor PCS+

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Amaze HD4890

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
  22. Randy Bobandy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hmm... Interesting. Maybe the one they sent me was a week or so pre-release? Dunno. Anyway, thanks for the link and pix!
     
    eva2000 says thanks.
  23. eva2000

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    99 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Or maybe date is just when AMD/ATI approves/passes on the bios to the vendor (Amaze) ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page