1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

selling rig going intel...

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by lucasweir, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    yo i need some help im selling my rig to a friend for 500$ (good deal!)

    im going with intel for my next build

    heres what im thinking..

    [​IMG]
    ASUS Maximus II

    or

    [​IMG]
    ASUS P5Q3
  2. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  3. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    ????? helppp
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    you could just get a P5Q pro its a lot cheaper and has the same feature minus the 2nd mosfet HS
  5. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    lucasweir says thanks.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Why not save some money go Phenom II when those come out?
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096

    Why not save money and go i7? Would like the new Phenoms, look pretty sweet!
  9. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
  10. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    cuz i wanna go intel and im selling my current rig
  11. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    And one more question do you think it will improve performance of my current rig?

    look in my system specs
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,428 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Oh yeah.
    lucasweir says thanks.
  13. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI

    good. i wonder what i can overclock this dual core too?
  14. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    get this ram instead same price and does 1150 5-5-5-15 on a 4GB kit
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  17. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    im keeping my case, optical, and hard drives, and my vista license.
  18. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Phenom II core for core will be just as powerful as the i7, and they really optimize DDR2 to make it operate very well. The i7 is just bleeding edge and not TERRIBLY expensive, but it still is like a few car payments, etc etc.
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'm not the software police but just be careful k? Just some cautious advice from a friend to a friend. . . .


    e8400 would be night and day for you. Decent choice on the board, but why not just the P5Q Pro to save a lil $$?
  20. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    i want the 16 phase power and the massive heatsinks, cuz i plan on a lot of overclocking
  21. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    what ram theres no link


    and do you think my cooler could fit my board cuz they have those heat pipes everywhere
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  22. lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oakland County, MI
    bump
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
  24. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Gskill has some nice 1066's they offer two different ones so check the timings.
  25. Msap14 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    156 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    US

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page