1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sempron 140 Unlocks to Athlon II X2

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,148 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,560
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It has been done over and over again, and each time new AMD processors successfully unlock disabled cores (dubbed "defective"), it only makes us wonder if it is a deliberate attempt by the company to make buying its cheaper processors potentially rewarding. It has been discovered that AMD's recently announced Sempron 140 single-core processor can be transformed into a dual-core Athlon II X2 series processor with a simple, well-known trick. This comes as no surprise, as the "Sargas" core the processor is based on, is made by disabling one core on the Regor dual-core die.

    The trick requires a motherboard with AMD SB710 or SB750 southbridge that supports the Advanced Clock Calibration feature. Not all motherboards, however, support this mod. By simply enabling the feature in the BIOS setup program, the system will be able to address both processor cores, with the complete feature-set of Athlon II X2. The staff behind the feat over at Thai techsite VModTech tested for the unlocked core's stability with much success. At 3.71 GHz (13.5 x 275 MHz @ 1.536 V), the processor stood SuperPi, WPrime, and WinRAR bandwidth tests. Validation can be found here. At around $40, here's the cheapest ticket to a dual-core processor that looks $80 Intel processors in the eye.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VModTech
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,151
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I think they're doing what they're doing with ATi. They're flooding the market with news on purpose so they get all the hype compared to Intel. It very well may work. Still pretty frickin' cool that you can get a dualie for $40 with the right board.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,132 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,406
    niiiice.

    we were discussing this in another thread here on TPU, and it made me all sad that my media PC's board only has SB700 :(
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,148 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,560
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Looking at the past 2 months, Intel is news-whoring more.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,237 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,151
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    But then again they're about to release a wholly revamped processor class and a brand new one. I do agree though, they have been quite prominent, and I think AMD got jealous. Just my completely irrational guess ;)
     
  6. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Latvia
    I doubt they will use laser to make it imposible to unlock cores, it just gives them more sales. There is reasn why those cores are locked, even if the flaw is minimal. But who cares, it if works.
     
  7. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I love little stories like this.
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    lol every AMD CPU transforms into another one its "more than meets the eye..."

    for basic stuff this would be good is is guaranteed an unlock tho?
     
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,325 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    877
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    so what batch does this belong to?

    Have an Phenom II X2 BE + Biostar 790GX board unopened sitting on my desk. Not sure if the BE will unlock to 4 cores, what batch should it belong to?

    may be I should try this sempron lol.
     
  10. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    LOL, yeah, I brought it up in the othe thread in General Hardware. :cool: I think I'm gonna go buy one just to test.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    No CPU is guaranteed an unlock. It's nice to see that these unlock, tho. I bet this stuff is really helping AMD sales too.
     
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    Lol... Intel is news whoring by releasing a confusing amount of chips and boards, and AMD is releasing unlock-able ones.

    hmm... I think I might be going AMD next time around :p.
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,611 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,756
    1.536v just to get to 3.7Ghz seem a little high - isnt that also above the 45nm 'safety' levels? it just shows how inefficient at handling voltage the processor is.
     
  14. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,622 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    just curious, does ACC actually have any other purpose besides unlocking cores? i built my friend's PC with an Athlon II 250. the mobo is Biostar 790GX which has ACC as i looked at his bios yesterday. I thought regor was actually a true dual-core chip, it can't be unlocked to 3 or 4 cores can it?

    very true, the build that i put together for my buddy yesterday has his athlon II 250 running 1.31v i think at stock...i was like :eek:
     
  15. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Regor is a true dual-core, but Sargas (Sempron X1) is a halved Regor.
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    AMD's 45nm can do 1.55v safely. These aren't really built for overclocking tho, pretty sure it's just a modified Athlon X2 core. AMD's handle voltages a lot differently than Intel's stuff.
     
  17. thezorro

    thezorro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    wow intel is being left behind.
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,148 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,560
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Phenom II X2 BE does unlock to 4 cores in some cases.
     
  19. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=227004

    here = a good list of batches, and people successes and failures with unlocking boards/chips/batch
     
    Frick and suraswami say thanks.
  20. BobBarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    188 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlantic City,NJ
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,325 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    877
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    but which batch/date?
     
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,148 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,560
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No specifics, it unlocks to four cores when it does.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,276 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,216
    Modified Phenom II core. Regor is a Deneb with two cores and the L3 Cache removed, and the L2 cache on the remaining two cores increased to 1MB each.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    This is hilarious. That is all.
     
  25. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    I want one that unlocks to a 32nm Orochi Bulldozer.
    :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page