1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SERIOUS problem here! No POST after flashing BIOS, HELP!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by specks, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Since this is my first post here i hope i will get some help:D

    I just edited the bios of my 4670 and now my pc wont even post...*nailbite*
    Good thing i have the original bios and i have a bootable usb disk and i havr everything in it to restore the bios..

    Question is, the the hell am i going to restore it when my pc wont even post???

    I do not have a spare mobo or gpu. I have no one to go to who has a mobo with 2 pcie slots nor a computer place to go to nor the cash to spend(Im not in the US) My mobo has only one pcie slot and an onboard graphics. There is absolutely no way i can get another mobo nor gpu.

    I tried switching to the onboard but still it wont post..

    What should i do???

    OMFG im so scared right now...oh please somebody help me!
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,934 (9.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Find a PCI video card. they are cheap and really good when you are in need of a restore flash
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    removing the 4670 and using onboard does not let you boot? please confirm, as that would mean a whole different story... (Try resetting BIOS first in order to let onboard video be in auto mode)
     
  4. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    I want to get these answered first before doing more damage

    1. Will my computer be forced to boot with the onboard vga if i remove the 4670?

    2. My bios is american megatrends(i dont know the version). Can i force the bios to boot with the onboard even if the 4670 is on the mobo?

    EDIT: (as if the moment)i plugged my monitor to the onboard with the 4670 still on thr mobo..still wont post..i guess i have to remove the 4670
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,934 (9.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    some boards do, some dont all you will have to do is try
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Okay i've removed the gpu and switched to the onboard with a successful boot to windows..Now what?
     
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Now 1st force the BIOS to boot from onboard, then reinstall the broken VGA card to reflash the bios. ¬°Easy! ;)
     
  8. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Thanks man! I will try this later. If i remove the battery from my mobo and hold the power button it should reset the bios to factory settings right
     
  9. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    just removing the battery for 30 secs is all you need to do to reset bios no need to hold power button down (remove power lead as well on some boards)
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    should be able to flash the BIOS back to the card while you are booted with the onboard. you can flash inside of windows too


    how will that reset the BIOS on the video card?
     
  11. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    thought he was talking about reseting his motherboard bios so he could set onboard vga (so it wouldnt overide when he installs dead card)
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    you just take the GPU out its a failsafe default
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page