1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Seriously overheating CPU! Help!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jackscoldsweat, May 8, 2011.

  1. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello I need some help diagnosing an issue with my PC. I am not sure whether I am in the right section of the forums for this but I'm new. Anyway... My problem is that i torture tested my CPU with prime95 (small FFTs) and recorded the temperatures with real temp, and 2 of my cores hit 99C, I'm not sure if real temp records any higher, but i know its not good regardless. Before i tested the CPU i noticed that it was running at 1.1Ghz instead of the stock 2.93Ghz and that i was getting sub-par picture quality, i tested it to see if there was a problem, obviously there is. This all happened after i moved my computer to another house.

    I am running...

    Motherboard: Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    CPU: Intel Core i7 870 (stock cooler)
    GPU: Amaze Radeon 5770HD
    RAM: 4Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
    Hard-Drive: 1Tb Western Digital Green
    Power Supply: Ritmo Force 860 Gaming (Horride Thing)

    Everything is at stock, untouched, and has never been touched. I think this is a problem with cooling.

    Please help, I am getting pretty worried. I am still under warranty, i have only had this computer for about 8 months. If you need any more info please ask.
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    the stock cooler might have gotten a bit loose when you moved the rig

    can you take of the sidepanel to check it?
     
  3. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have already done that, and checked it, I'm also running an open case at the moment because i thought it might help. Should i close my case?
     
  4. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    How safe do you feel taking your parts out the case?

    Reason I ask is because I think you may be best testing the rig out on an open worktop, there could also be something stuck inside your case somewhere.
     
  5. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll give it a try tonight, thanks. I'll post how it goes.
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,781 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    How did you notice that it is downclocked to 1.1 GHz? Check with CPU-Z your stock clocks. The sub-par picture quality has nothing to do with the CPU. At 99C the CPU should have been down throttling due to thermal danger. Start a test something like cinebench and watch temps and clocks via realtemp or coretempand CPU-z.
     
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    He has used Real Temp :)


     
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,296 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,469
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    when you make it down technically the temp should be lower coz it aint use its max power, i guess check the hsf, tighten, clean it check the fan
    but 90 some celcius, is that right? recheck it again. but if its true you better plan buying aftermarket cooler
    for reducing the temp you could try replace the fan with bigger one, replace the thermal paste, or lapping the hsf, and create better airflow but if it doesnt help much it looks aftermarket cooler is the answer
     
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    A few things.

    1 What do you mean by "sub par picture quality"? As others have said, a dodgy CPU wouldn't cause this, but it might still be relevant in some way

    2 It's likely that your heatsink isn't sitting quite right after being moved and a simple visual check can't detect this. You should take it right off, clean off the thermal paste with isopropyl alcohol, put new paste and put it back on. Use good quality paste like Arctic Silver etc

    3 Try using the official Gigabyte utility for measuring temperature. It's always possible that a third party one may not work properly with your board.

    That PSU sounds like a cheap and nasty, as you say it's "horrid". Once you sort out the overheat, I recommend that you invest in a quality model. This will save grief later with things like stability problems, noise and the chance that your cheap PSU can literally go up in smoke and take out the rest of the PC with it.

    Brands such as Corsair, Seasonic and a few others are the ones to go for.

    Finally, welcome to TPU! :toast:
     
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    @micropage7 - He state's his rig was fine before he moved house... leads to me to believe something may of come loose or got trapped causing these insane readings, ofcourse if I am wrong then he should look into testing each component on another rig (if possible). I don't see this being an cooler issue (unless it has came loose, but he said he's checked for that) as again he said his rig was fine before he moved house.

    EDIT: Listen to Qubit! A lame PSU will more than often cause some real nightmare's :/
     
    qubit says thanks.
  11. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    :wtf:

    Even a stock cooler isn't that bad. There is something else wrong
     
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Thankyou, flattery will get you everywhere! :D :toast:
     
  13. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I saw the speed with CPU-Z and it also said the same thing on real-temp. I just tested it again and at 99C it dropped down to 2.6Ghz and note that when i test it it runs at its normal speed and is running at 1.1Ghz at idle (idle temp is about 45C)

    I am thinking of buying an after market cooler but I think there is a problem with the physical CPU, and maybe not the cooling, but if it is a cooling issue which one would you suggest? I have about $100 to spend.
     
  14. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I may stand corrected but I'm pretty sure your CPU will downclock itself @idle to save energy/power :D


    Well I certainly do try :p
     
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,937 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    It does if ... whatever the thing is called is turned on. There's an option for that in BIOS.
     
  16. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,781 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    Don't know what speeds uses the 870 when idle but there if you have 45C then it's definitely a cooler heatsink issue.
     
  17. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    ... and it sounds like it is in this case wouldn't you say?

    Anyone know what it's called for the Intel chips? Maybe you could give them that info and let the OP check for themselves in BIOS :)

    EDIT: @jackscoldsweat - what about taking your parts out for testing on a bench/worktop/desk?
     
  18. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,781 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    for this second gen core it's called speedstep or EIST, it might be the same for him.
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  19. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks!

    1. I didn't think it was related but it was the first sign of something going wrong.

    2. I have taken my heatsink off and re-attached it. I think I'll get some thermal paste and maybe an after market cooler too.

    3. I'll give it a try.

    And yes this PSU is awful $40 for a 860w power supply, big mistake :/ ahhh well im replacing it soon.

    I think i know what you mean, ill turn it off and tell you the idle temps at normal frequency.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2011
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    If your experiencing high temps it's best to leave it on, as this should help keep temps down to the minimal, and having it on never hurt anything anyways :)
     
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You still haven't explained what you mean by sub par picture quality - what effect do you see? This is important, as it means that the PSU may already be giving you grief.

    If you have removed and reconnected the heatsink without applying thermal paste, then you have done very badly my friend! It's a golden rule to always reapply the paste once the heatsink has come off. Regardless of the initial cause of your high temps, this will cause it now. You shouldn't use the PC until you've sorted this out, or you could well slowly damage your CPU. Your call.

    Once you've sorted out your heatsink, you could also load your BIOS with default values. There's a tiny little chance that somehow the mobo is now feeding the CPU with too many volts. I had an Abit mobo with that fault once. Very dangerous.
     
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,781 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,077
    So I would stop here, get some thermal paste if you don't have any around and then check again.
     
  23. jackscoldsweat New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I turned them on to test and idle temps, yes IDLE TEMPS are 52C - 58C maxing out at 69C. I am going to turni it off and get a new heatsink and thermal paste.

    The sub-par picture quality is hard to explain but it looks like there is a lack of anti-aliasing, if that makes sense. Everything is blurry. Anyway, I am going to turn off my computer, get a new heat sink and thermal paste and reset my defaults. Thanks very much for the help!
    Hopefully it'll all work out.
     
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,052 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,624
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Awesome, you've made the right decision. Glad to help! :toast:

    BTW you don't need to replace the heatsink to fix the problem. Getting a better one will simply improve performance.

    Regarding the dodgy video display. Am I right that the desktop looks fuzzy even though you have set it to the monitor's native resolution? Also, you're either running off the card's digital output, or the analog and have pressed the Auto button to sync the monitor to it.

    I've seen that effect before too and it appears to be a driver/Windows bug that affects nvidia cards more than ATI. I can't prove it, but I believe it's the video DRM called Protected Video Path baked into Vista & 7, kicking in when it shouldn't. Specifically, it's designed to degrade the picture quality of Blu-rays played on non-HDCP compliant monitors, such as analog connections to prevent "piracy". :rolleyes: Shit, don't get me started on the evils of DRM...

    Updating/reinstalling the driver and rebooting usually fixes it.

    Finally, fill in your system specs dude - it helps us help you and is really cool. :cool: Have a look at my specs perhaps under the mini stats on the left, to see how it looks.
     
  25. mad1394

    mad1394 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    127 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Turn off the new AMD anti aliasing option maybe? (Morphological Anti-Aliasing)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page