1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Server Move Completed!

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Sep 12, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    We have moved to a new host with new servers. This should result in improved page load times. If you spot any broken features please let us know. Thank you!
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2007
  2. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Ah, exact same time I posted my question about it. I hate it when that happens :shadedshu
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Will we have more bandwidth to burn baby?
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    got faster servers to burn .. from 1 box with 2gb to 2 boxes with 4 gb each
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Why the url change?
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Waiting for the DNS move.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    maybe we're on a backup server while the main server is being updated?
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    no the main (old) server will be disconnected and the two new servers connected .. it takes a while for the dns to propagate the new ip addresses
    kwchang007 says thanks.
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Huh, ok got a nice little message to clear my dns so mine's ok....I think.
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,046 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    cool! tpu is faster now :D
  11. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Nice :D

    Hope the move goes smoothly.
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    its looking very good now .. anybody see problems on the site?
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I see that it is...

    www1.techpowerup.com...
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I see a problem. I am still a peon with no moneys, or free hardware.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The image uploading problem that I MSNed you about is the only one I have experienced so far. Everything else seems to be working great :)
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    it does seem to work faster here. Not that TPU was ever slow, but it is a bit snappier.
  17. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    Could this have anything to do why i was contiinuously losing my signal while on techpowerup earlier this afternoon
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    losing signal?
  19. CBOT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    Same here.

    Very Slow Load and i must reload the Site 2 times to see him .Or the Site was Blank, nothing to see and than must Reload before it works.

    Befor Server change it was Really Fast and all OK:respect: but now :(.
  20. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,163 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Page load times 5 x faster here, must have better routing to the new server host :p. On average it take 1.5 seconds to load a page including the "Review" and "Articles" pages, which is really nice.
  21. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Kinda a broken feature. Now that new servers are up I can't get that little techpowerup logo (that red power button) to show up in my bookmark bar. I only use those icons there, so my daily sites fit there better. Oh and Firefox is the browser.

    All I had to do previously was drag&drop a page there, then open it from the newly created link and the little logo was there. Somehow it doesn't work anymore and just deleted the old !.

    I'd add it manually if I'd knew where to do it, but don't know the name of that link picture, so google is no help either. TY in advance if someone knows :)

    EDIT: did it manually with this add-on https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3176
    but it's not looking good and there are white borders around it :(

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2007
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yesterday I noticed a few moments where the TPU wouldn't load, then was slow later. This morning, it seems to be really screamin' Sweet.
  23. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Very nice and quick here :cool:
  24. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I had some problems with the pages loading in both IE7 and FF latest edition, before the move. Afterwards, its super snappy and quick and....the little circle thingy doesnt keep moving when a page is done loading, like it did before.
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page