1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Server stutters video when streaming

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Bringing up a old thread

    Server: 40gb OS*4x1.5tb Seagate 7200.11*GA-P35-DS3L*E4400@2.4*2x2Gb DDR2*Server 2008R2*6200 TC*RF Cooling*Generic PSU*Rocket Raid 2640*

    It still stutters dvd or blu ray, doesn't matter what I play it can't seem to stream. Its running gb network but every 5 minutes it skips.

    [​IMG].


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    anyone
     
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    no one?
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    After 5.5K posts one would expect you to know how we feel about bumping.

    How about giving relevant information? What software? What kind of video? Does it happen with all types of video? What network speeds are you getting? Is something sucking up all RAM or CPU power every month or something? (some scheduled task?)
     
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Sorry, just use to responses happening within an hour or two.

    I'm just running the basic OS that's all. Video are blu ray rips, full rips of 30+ gibs. It usually happens on any big files like matrix mkv with is 15Gig, 2012 which is 15Gigs.

    Not that I know of, Nothing is suppose to be scheduled, the proc is usually only at 5-15% when running a blu ray off of it.

    The network is 100Mbps throughout my house, i have no way of upgrading it to 10/100/1000.
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,314 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,245
    So the problem is that video streaming from the server is stuttering on the other machines, and rebooting the server fixes the issue?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Yes.

    My dads machine has windows freshly installed copy of windows on it, mine is about 4 months old os install.
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,276 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Home
    My friend once have his video stutter because he mistakenly upscale the video before sending it to his PS3, instead of sending the raw data and then upscaling it in the PS3.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,314 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,245
    How are you streaming the video? Straight file shares, or some kind of software like TVersity or WMP?

    When the stuttering happens, does it happen on both your dad's and your machine at the same time?

    Next time it happens, check out CPU Usage, RAM Usage, and Network Usage on the server.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    file sharing. We use a program called my movies for 7MC that indexes movies then plays them like a disc is in it.

    I'll check it out right now. i'll go play a blu-ray.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2010
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Well i've been playing iron man for about 30 minutes without any issues wich isn't unusual after the server is rebooted. network usage is around 40%
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 4, 2010
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,314 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,245
    Wait until it starts stuttering, then look at the CPU/RAM/Network.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    some times it doesn't do it. Even with just one person pulling info off, that's why it is weird.

    edit: IT just did it. here is screen shots.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    would replacing the nic card help? or could it be the 2wire 3800g router
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,314 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,245
    Is that normal network usage when streaming from it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I'm thinking upgrade to gigabit. That'll stream 30GB movies without stuttering.

    Edit: just saw you said you can't upgrade from 100Mbps. Why not?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  17. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    1000, because the wire ran through my house is cat5. Most of it is stapled down so it wouldn't be easy to re-run cable.

    Yes, thats pretty typical. its usually around 35%
     
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    You could try a good NIC, but I can't guarantee it'll help.
     
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,327 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    877
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Cat5 can do 1000 if its of good quality. I have used it with my gig switch and no issues. Try changing your switch to a Gig one and you will see a huge difference.
     
  20. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Well on second thought, I just ran the numbers and even a 90-minute movie of 30GB size couldn't even half saturate a 100Mbps connection (12.5MBps capability while the movie bitrate would only be 5.7MBps). So I'd check into background processes running on the server that might be causing disruptions.
     
  21. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Well the 2wire gateway isn't even gigabit. My airport extreme is but i have no idea how to bypass the 2wire and use the airport
     
  22. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    One other thing; what program are you using to watch the videos? I wonder if DRM could be getting in your way at all.
     
  23. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
  24. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Have you tried it with VLC Media Player?
     
  25. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    VLC, afaik, doesn't give you the full menu option like total media theater 3
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page